Acoustic Alchemy - This Way (CD)

Acoustic Alchemy

Write a review

R 245

eB2 450

Discovery Miles  2 450

Shipped in 7 to 10 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Sold by Upbeat - Fulfilled by Takealot

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Jazz Instrument
  3. Smooth
Copy Control
Number of Items
This Way
Country of Origin
EMI Music Distribution
Mono / Stereo
JazzTimes (p.116) - "[T]he title track 'This Way,' one of the most memorable tunes in the band's history, shifts from stroll-in-the-park six-string sweetness to a swelling apex in the bridge, Gilderdale's axe blazing away in rock-god glory."
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Love Is All There Is
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Ernie
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Who Knows
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Slampop
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Out Of Nowhere
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Tied Up With String
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Only In My Dreams
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Only In My Dreams (1)
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Carlos The King
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Egg
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Now I'm On My Way
Release Date
20 June 2007
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Love Is All There Is
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Ernie
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Who Knows
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Slampop
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Out of Nowhere
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] This Way
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Tied up With String
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Only in My Dreams
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Carlos the King
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Egg
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Now I'm on My Way

Acoustic Alchemy: Mile Gilderdale (vocals); Greg Carmichael (nylon-string guitar); Snake Davis (alto saxophone); Jeff Kashiwa (tenor saxophone); Kevin Robinson , Rick Braun (flugelhorn); Dennis Rollins (trombone); Mike Herting, Neil Cowley , Terry Disley (piano); Fred White (Fender Rhodes piano); John Goldsby, Julian Crampton, Paul Harriman (bass guitar); Bert Smaak (drums); Richard Bull (programming); Greg Grainger, Miles Gilderdale (background vocals).
With the release of This Way, Acoustic Alchemy's guitarists Greg Carmichael and Miles Gilderdale celebrate a remarkable two decades since Red Dust & Spanish Lace established the British ensemble as an ever-evolving powerhouse of contemporary jazz. Carmichael and Gilderdale's natural chemistry is very apparent on this set of loose and spirited songs, as is the soloing by the complementing musicians on such jazzy tracks as "Egg," which has a very British, blues-drenched, straight-ahead sound. By contrast, "Ernie" has an exotic Latin jazz flavor complete with great solos by Terry Disley, Jeff Kashiwa, and trombonist Dennis Rollins. Rick Braun makes a guest appearance on "Carlos the King," a racy rock, Latin, and blues fusion that also features Gilderdale's electric guitar and Greg Grainger's percussive energy. With as many brilliant players as there are in the ensemble, the concept of two acoustic guitar players is still the emotional heartbeat of the band's sound. Carmichael and Gilderdale's outstanding playing on "Out of Nowhere" and "This Way" is a sure testament to that concept. "Out of Nowhere" features a hypnotic, swaying acoustic melody over a gentle guitar harmony and light percussion line. The slow-burning title track features experimental synth textures similar to those heard on the early Acoustic Alchemy releases of the late '80s that featured the group's founders, Nick Webband Greg Carmichael. However, This Way acquaints both veteran and new listeners with the group's updated legacy of positive and powerful music. ~ Paula Edelstein

Date Released
2007-06-01 00:00:00
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Acoustic Alchemy
Richard Bull; Klaus Genult
  1. Acoustic Alchemy
55m 6s
Richard Bull; Klaus Genult
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 245

Shop by Department