Ashford & Simpson - Gospel According To Ashford & Simpson (CD)

Write a review

R 37


Discovery Miles  370

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. R&B
    3. Soul
    Number of Discs
    Number of Items
    Gospel According to Ashford & Simpson
    Country of Origin
    Mono / Stereo
    South Africa
    R&B / Soul
    57m 47s
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] I'll Be There For You
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Love It Away
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Mighty Mighty Love
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Make It Work Again
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I'm Not That Tough
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Street Opera (Part 1/Working Man)
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Street Opera (Part 2/Who Will They Look to)
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Street Opera (Part 3/Street Corner)
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Street Opera (Part 4/Times Will Be Good Again)
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Street Opera (Part 5/Working Man) - (reprise)
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Solid
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Cherish Forever More
    13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Tonight We Escape (We Make Love)
    14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Still Such a Thing
    15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Count Your Blessings

    Personnel: Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes, electric piano, keyboards, synthesizer, drum programming, percussion); Eric Gale, Sid McGinnis (guitar); Vinnie Della-Roca (saxophone); Joe Mosello (trumpet); Pete Cannarozzi, Ray Chew, Tim Cox, Joseph Joubert, Jimmy Simpson (piano, Fender Rhodes, electric piano, keyboards, synthesizer, drum programming, percussion); Francisco Centeno (bass); Ivan Hampden, Yogi Horton, Chris Parker (drums); Sammy Figueroa, Ralph MacDonald, Jimmy Simpson (percussion); Ulanda McCullough, Raymond Simpson (background vocals).
    Producers: Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson.
    Compilation producer: Leo Sacks.
    Engineers include: Mike Alaire, Joe Arlotta, Ted Blechta, Barney Bristol.
    Includes liner notes by Michele Wallace.
    All tracks have been digitally remastered.
    A 15-song sampler of their 1980s work, leaning far more heavily on tracks from the first half of the decade, this includes the hits "I'll Be There for You," "Count Your Blessings," "Street Opera," and "Solid," although one of their biggest, "Outta the World," is strangely absent. More than just about any other single-artist compilation you could name, this is a definitive representation of how mainstream soul often sounded in the 1980s. Which is to say, it often sounded more like adult contemporary pop than soul. ~ Richie Unterberger

    EMI Music Distribution
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Ashford & Simpson
    1. Ashford & Simpson
    Date Released
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 37

    Shop by Department