Barbra Streisand - Higher Ground (CD)

Barbra Streisand

Write a review

R 80


Discovery Miles  800

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Pop Vocal
    3. Show Vocals
    Copy Control
    Number of Items
    Higher Ground
    Country of Origin
    USA / Canada
    Mono / Stereo
    Entertainment Weekly (11/28/97, p.84) - "...the persistent strings-and-choir treatment on these 12 tunes...reduces the whole collection to one long, lush ballad that would be more at home over 'The Prince Of Tides'' closing credits." - Rating: C
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] I Believe/You'll Never Walk Alone
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Lessons To Be Learned
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Everything Must Change
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Avinu Malkeinu
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Higher Ground
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] At The Same Time
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Tell Him
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] On Holy Ground
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] If I Could
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Circle
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] The Water Is Wide/Deep River
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Leading With Your Heart
    Release Date
    27 November 1997
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] I Believe / You'll Never Walk Alone
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Higher Ground
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] At the Same Time
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Tell Him
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] On Holy Ground
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] If I Could
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Circle
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] The Water Is Wide / Deep River
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Leading With Your Heart
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Lessons to Be Learned
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Everything Must Change
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Avinu Malkeinu - (Hebrew)

    Personnel includes: Barbra Streisand, Celine Dion (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Dann Huff (guitar); Eric Rigler (Uileann pipes); Greg Phillinganes (piano, keyboards); Mervyn Warren (piano); Scott Frankfurt (keyboards, synthesizer, bass, programming, drum programming); Walter Afanasieff (keyboards, synthesizer, bass, drum programming); Dan Shea (keyboards, drum & computer programming); David Foster (keyboards, synthesizer); Byron Smith (Hammond B-3 organ); Neil Stubenhaus, Reggie Hamilton (bass); J.R. Robinson (drums); Bob Zimmetti, Peter Michael Escovedo III (percussion); Simon Franglen (drum programming); Phillip Ingram, Alex Brown, Lynn Davis, Jim Gilstrap, The Carol Lombard Children's Choir (background vocals).
    Producers: Barbara Streisand, Arif Mardin, Walter Afanasieff, David Foster, Mervyn Warren, Jeremy Lubbock.
    Engineers include: David Reitzas, David Gleeson, Jeff Balding, Humberto Gatica, Frank Wolf.
    Includes liner notes by Barbra Streisand and Jay Landers.
    "I Believe/You'll Never Walk Alone" was nominated for the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocal(s).
    This album, which is dedicated to the memory of Virginia Kelley, President Clinton's mother, opens with a sense of quiet sincerity in Barbra Streisand's restrained take on Rodgers and Hammerstein's "You'll Never Walk Alone," paired with an equally non-traditional version of the Frankie Laine hit, "I Believe," both of which set the tone for the remainder of HIGHER GROUND. Offerings range from show tunes and popular songs to traditional pieces like "The Water is Wide" and "Avinu Malkeinu," which is traditionally sung during Rosh Hashanah, and whose lyrics translate as "Cause all hate and oppression to vanish from the earth/Inscribe us for blessing in the Book of Life." HIGHER GROUND carries this sense of spirituality to a variety of levels, resulting in a very accessible and timeless collection of songs sung by one of the world's most popular divas, who is at her most powerful and passionate, her rich and expressive voice backed by a lush 70-piece orchestra.

    Date Released
    1999-01-01 00:00:00
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Barbra Streisand
    1. Streisand, Barbra
    Sony Music Distribution (
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 80

    More Buying Choices

    R 235

    Shipped in 7 to 10 working days
    Shop by Department