Ben Williams - State Of Art (CD)

Ben Williams

Write a review

R 175

eB1 750

Discovery Miles  1 750

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. R&B
    3. Rap
    Number of Items
    State of Art
    Country of Origin
    Universal Distribution

    Down Beat (p.52) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "STATE OF ART celebrates Williams musical background, paying tribute to jazz greats but also moving through pop music..."
    JazzTimes (p.64) - "[A] lively set of music drawing from his own compositions and sources as eclectic as Michael Jackson and Stevie Wonder."

    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Home
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Moontrane
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] The Lee Morgan Story (featuring emcee John Robinson & Christian Scott)
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Dawn Of A New Day
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Little Susie - Intro
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Little Susie
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] November
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Part-Time Lover
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Things Don't Exist
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Mr. Dynamite
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Moonlight In Vermont
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Home
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Moontrane
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Lee Morgan Story, The - (featuring Emcee John Robinson)
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Dawn of a New Day
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Little Susie (Intro)
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Little Susie
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] November
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Part-Time Lover
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Things Don't Exist
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Mr. Dynamite
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Moonlight in Vermont
    Release Date
    8 August 2011

    Personnel: Matthew Stevens (guitar); Marcus Strickland (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Gerald Clayton (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Jamire Williams (drums); Etienne Charles (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Seth Presant.
    Liner Note Author: Ben Williams .
    Recording information: Sear Sound, New York, NY (06/16/2010/06/17/2010).
    Photographer: Jati Lindsay.
    Arranger: Ben Williams .
    Bassist Ben Williams' 2011 solo debut, State of Art, is a thoughtful contemporary and post-bop-leaning album that finds the winner of the 2009 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition delving into several original tunes and successful pop covers. Williams is an adroit improviser with a fluid, muscular approach to the upright -- as well as the electric -- bass, and he showcases all of his skills here along with his ear for unexpected covers and lively originals. Tracks like the roiling, Latin-infused number "November," featuring guitarist Matthew Stevens, and the high-energy, frenetic "Mr. Dynamite" are ear-popping straight-ahead jazz moments, while the hip-hop jazz cut "The Lee Morgan Story," featuring MC/vocalist John Robinson, brings to mind such '90s innovators as Gang Starr and A Tribe Called Quest. A child of the hip-hop generation, Williams clearly has an affinity for the music he grew up with, and consequently, although he does deliver a ruminative and gorgeous contemporary jazz version of "Moonlight in Vermont" here, he also includes a handful of inspired soul covers, including a string-heavy take on Michael Jackson's "Little Susie" and a slow and funky modal jazz version of Stevie Wonder's "Part-Time Lover" featuring saxophonist Marcus Strickland, while he turns R&B singer Goapele's "Things Don't Exist" into a cinematic orchestral jazz ballad. Though not an R&B cover, Williams' version of trumpeter Woody Shaw's underappreciated "Moontrane" only helps to further expand an already supremely well-rounded debut. ~ Matt Collar

    Date Released
    2012-04-01 00:00:00
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Video Disabled
    Ben Williams (Bass)
    Chris Dunn; Ben Williams
    1. Williams, Ben
    61m 44s
    Chris Allen
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 175

    Shop by Department