Brad Mehldau - Largo (CD)

Brad Mehldau

Write a review

R 549

eB5 490

Discovery Miles  5 490

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free delivery available | 

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Jazz Instrument
    3. Piano
    Number of Discs
    Number of Items
    Country of Origin
    Nonesuch (USA)
    WEA (Distributor)

    Rolling Stone (10/3/02, p.102) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Quietly engrossing, the perfect soundtrack for a late-night meditation..."
    Entertainment Weekly (8/16/02, p.72) - Grade A - "...bold experimental gem....curveball jazz album of the year."
    CMJ (9/2/02, p.6) - "Pianist Brad Mehldau's playing has always been subtle and introspective….[Largo] showcases original compositions and a trio of unusually revealing covers..."
    JazzTimes (9/02, p.86) - "...A well-measured balance of heavy and soft numbers....a rocking curveball..."

    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] When It Rains
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Alvarado
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Wave / Mother Nature's Son
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] I Do
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] You're Vibing Me
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Dusty McNugget
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Dropjes
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Paranoid Android
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Franklin Avenue
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Sabbath
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Dear Prudence
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Free Willy
    Release Date
    7 August 2002
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] When It Rains
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] You're Vibing Me
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Dusty McNugget
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Dropjes
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Paranoid Android
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Franklin Avenue
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Sabbath
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Dear Prudence
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Free Willy
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Alvarado
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Wave/Mother Nature's Son: Wave / Mother Nature's Son
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] I Do

    Personnel: Brad Mehldau (vibraphone, piano); Phillip Yao, Daniel Kelley, Joseph Meyer, Jerry Folsom (French horn); William Reichenbach, George B. Thatcher, Kenneth Kugler (trombone); Steve Kujala, Dave Shostac (flute);
    Gary Gray, Emile Bernstein (clarinet); Jon Clark, Earle Dulmer (oboe);
    Peter Mandell, Rose Corrigan (bassoon); Jim Keltner (vibraphone, piano, drums, percussion); Jon Brion (piano, guitar, percussion); Larry Grenadier, Darek "Oles" Oleszkiewicz (acoustic bass); Justin Meldal-Johnsen (electric bass); Matt Chamberlain (drums, tabla, shaker, percussion); Victor Indrizzo (drums, percussion); Jorge Rossy (drums).
    Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California in April 2001.
    In the most enigmatic project up to this point in his career, Brad Mehldau explores conflicting aesthetics, sometimes in tracks positioned next to each other, and occasionally within the confines of a single performance. A spare simplicity governs much of the album, emphasized by almost puritanical horn arrangements -- long notes, mournful triadic chords. After acknowledging these episodes with childlike figurations on the piano, Mehldau then builds his solos along more dissonant lines, which invariably end up enhancing the mood. But then there are tracks like "Dropjes," whose electronic effects gnash angrily at the piano, or "Free Willy," on which putty attached to the instrument's low strings allows Mehldau to unleash a feral improvisation, with lines that suggest scurrying rodents more than bebop blowing. Producer Jon Brion stimulated much of this adventurism, at times diving directly into the mix with his guitar synth or Chamberlin keyboard. But what intrigues most about Largo in the end is the perspective it offers on Mehldau, whose playing here is, as always, intelligent, perhaps a bit cerebral, and now open as well to sonic exotica. ~ Robert L. Doerschuk

    65m 26s
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Brad Mehldau
    Jon Brion
    1. Brad Mehldau
    Date Released
    2002-07-01 00:00:00
    Thomas Biller
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 549

    Shop by Department