Culture - Cumbolo (CD)


Write a review

R 80


Discovery Miles  800

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Reggae
    3. Roots Reggae
    Number of Discs
    Number of Items
    Country of Origin
    Caroline Distribution
    Mono / Stereo
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] THEY NEVER LOVE IN THIS TIME
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] INNOCENT BLOOD
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] COMBOLO
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] POOR JAH PEOPLE
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] NATTY NEVER GET WEARY
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] NATTY DREAD NAW RUN
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] DOWN IN JAMAICA
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] THIS TRAIN
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] PAY DAY
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] MIND WHO YOU BEG FOR HELP
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] They Never Love in This Time
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Innocent Blood
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Cumbolo
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Poor Jah People
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Natty Never Get Weary
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Natty Drad New Run
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Down in Jamaica
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] This Train
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Payday
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Mind Who You Beg for Help
    Release Date
    15 February 2002
    South Africa

    Personnel includes: Joseph Hill, Robert Walker (vocals).
    Recorded at Treasure Isle Studio, Kingston, Jamiaca.
    Personnel: Ken Paley, Joseph Hill, Kenneth Lloyd Dayes, Albert Walker (vocals); Radcliffe Bryan, Errol "Ranchie" McLean, Willie Lindo, Bertram "Ranchie" McLean (guitar); Cedric Brooks (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Clive "Azul" Hunt (saxophone, trumpet); Felix "Deadly" Headley (saxophone); Headley Bennett (alto saxophone); David Madden (trumpet); Vin Gordon (trombone); Earl Lindo, Harold Butler, Ansel Collins (keyboards); Michael Richards, Sly Dunbar, Mikey "Boo" Richards (drums); Uziah "Sticky" Thompson (percussion).
    Audio Mixer: Errol Brown .
    Recording information: Treasure Isle Recording Studio; Treasure Ixe Recording Studio.
    Photographer: Dennis Morris .
    As roots reggae harmony groups go, Culture has always been a bit unique. Wholly dominated by the mystical and strangely charismatic lead singer and songwriter Joseph Hill, Culture has always dealt in simple (some would say simplistic) and yet absurdly catchy melodies, astringent harmonies and lyrics of the very dreadest character -- very few love songs, very few party songs, just lots and lots of dire warnings issued to Babylon and its fellow travellers. Although the band is most commonly praised for its work with producer Joe Gibbs (most notably the stone classic Two Sevens Clash album), many the tracks Culture recorded under the supervision of Sonia Pottinger are every bit as good, and Cumbolo includes ten of the best of those. Just about every song here counts as a highlight, but "Natty Never Get Weary," "Poor Jah People," and a charming adaptation of "This Train" are all particularly good. And the backup is provided by a shifting contingent of Jamaica's studio aristocracy that includes Sly & Robbie, Ansel Collins, and "Deadly" Headley Bennett, among other luminaries. Highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

    Date Released
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    S.E. Pottinger; Sonia Pottinger
    1. Culture
    45m 35s
    Errol Brown
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 80

    Shop by Department