Davis Miles - Volume Two - Remastered (CD)

Miles Davis

Write a review

R 68


Discovery Miles  680

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Jazz Instrument
    3. Trumpet
    Number of Discs
    Number of Items
    Miles Davis, Vol. 2 [Remaster]
    Country of Origin
    Blue Note
    EMI Music Distribution
    Mono / Stereo
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] KELO
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] ENIGMA
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] RAY'S IDEA
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] TEMPUS FUGIT
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] C.T.A.
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I WAITED FOR YOU
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] KELO (ALTERNATIVE TAKE)
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] ENIGMA (ALTERNATIVE TAKE)
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] RAY'S IDEA (ALTERNATIVE TAKE)
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] TEMPUS FUGIT (ALTERNATIVE TAKE)
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] C.T.A. (ALTERNATIVE TAKE)
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Kelo
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Enigma
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Ray's Idea
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Tempus Fugit
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] C.T.A.
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I Waited For You
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Kelo - (alternate take)
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Enigma - (alternate take)
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Ray's Idea - (alternate take)
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Tempus Fugit - (alternate take)
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] C.T.A. - (alternate take)
    Release Date
    6 August 2001
    South Africa

    Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Jimmy Heath (tenor saxophone); J.J. Johnson (trombone); Gil Coggins (piano); Percy Heath (acoustic bass); Art Blakey (drums).
    Producer: Alfred Lion.
    Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
    Recorded at WOR Studios, New York, New York on April 20, 1953.
    Digitally remastered by Rudy Van Gelder (2001).
    This is part of Blue Note's Rudy Van Gelder Editions series.
    Like VOLUME 1, this CD features arrangements in the order that they were recorded. VOLUME 2 contains the second Blue Note session, while VOLUME 1 focuses on the first and third.
    This 1953 date was the most inspired, overtly beboppish of Miles' three Blue Note sessions--an ambitious showcase for modern jazz's greatest composers (J.J. Johnson, Ray Brown, Bud Powell, Jimmy Heath, Walter Fuller and Dizzy Gillespie), and a remarkable rhythm section (drummer Art Blakey, bassist Percy Heath, and the obscure pianist Gil Coggins).
    A dynamic front line of Davis, trombonist J.J. Johnson and the bassist's brother Jimmy Heath on tenor saxophone, gives each tune big band weight and texture. J.J. Johnson's lilting "Kelo" and tragic "Enigma" proceed from the orchestral tradition of BIRTH OF THE COOL, and his taut velvety tenor trombone counterpoint contrasts nicely with Davis' burnished midrange and brassy cry. Tenor man Jimmy Heath seems to take the Basie and Gillespie big bands as the jumping off point for his jazz classic "C.T.A.," and ends his own solo with an affectionate nod to Lester Young.
    Miles' ballad turn on "I Waited For You" is one of his most alluring performances, while his effortless swing on "C.T.A." and "Ray's Idea" sums up his innovations in blues phrasing. But his solo and arrangement on "Tempus Fugit" are simply transcendent. This Bud Powell anthem for modernists generates a challenging set of symphonic variations, driven along by the emotional intensity of Art Blakey. The joy with which Miles and Blakey morph between swing and Afro-Cuban rhythms, blues and bop phrasing, is what jazz is all about.

    Date Released
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Miles Davis
    1. Davis, Miles
    39m 6s
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 68

    Shop by Department