Frank Zappa - Make A Jazz Noise Here (CD)

Frank Zappa

Write a review

Free Delivery Available

R 369

eB3 690

Discovery Miles  3 690

Shipped in 10 to 12 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Art Rock
Number of Items
Make a Jazz Noise Here
Audio CD
Q (8/95, pp.150-151) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...focuses on the five-piece horn section's bravura musical moments....Tight and tenacious."
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Stinkfoot
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] When Yuppies Go To Hell
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Fire And Chains
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Let's Make The Water Turn Black
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Harry, You're A Beast
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Orange County Lumber Truck, The
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Oh No
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Theme From Lumpy Gravy
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Eat That Question
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Black Napkins
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Big Swifty
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] King Kong
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Star Wars Won't Work
  14. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Black Page [New Age Version], The
  15. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] T'Mershi Duween
  16. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Dupree's Paradise
  17. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] City Of Tiny Lights
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Royal March From "L'Histoire Du Soldat"
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Theme From The Bartok Piano Concerto #3
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Sinister Footwear 2nd mvt.
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Stevie's Spanking
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Alien Orifice
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] Cruisin' For Burgers
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Advance Romance
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Strictly Genteel
Pop / Rock

Personnel: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar, synthesizers); Ike Willis, Mike Keneally (guitar, synthesizers); Kurt McGettrick (contrabass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Paul Carman (soprano, alto & baritone saxophones); Albert Wing (tenor saxophone); Walt Fowler (trumpet, flugelhorn); Bruce Fowler (trombone); Bobby Martin (keyboards); Scott Thunes (Mini-Moog synthesizer, bass); Ed Mann (vibraphone, marimba, percussion); Chad Wackerman (drums, percussion).
The third collection from the infamous 1988 final world tour, MAKE A JAZZ NOISE HERE is easily one of Zappa's most challenging live recordings in his massive catalog. Comprised mostly of instrumental masterpieces ("King Kong," "T'Mershi Duween"), bizarre group improvisations ("When Yuppies Go To Hell") and a few comedic novelty songs ("Stevie's Spanking"), this two-disc set is a revealing look at one of Zappa's most accomplished (and largest) bands of his career. Also included are some unique (although short) quotes from Stravinsky's "L'Histoire Du Soldat" and Bartok's "Piano Concerto #3." What's more, this is a great illustration of how Zappa actually "played" the band. His use of sampled sound bites ("Fire And Chains") and electronically manipulated sound effects ("Star Wars Won't Work") along with his command of instant stylistic changes in mid-song ("The Black Page") gives us a picture of his immense tonal palette from which he created each performance. It is sad, however, that this was the last time the world would hear this brilliant artist in a live setting.

Universal Distribution
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Frank Zappa
  1. Zappa, Frank
Date Released

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 369

Shop by Department