Grateful Dead - Skull & Roses - Expanded & Remastered (CD)

Grateful Dead

Write a review

R 209

eB2 090

Discovery Miles  2 090

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Country Rock
Number of Items
Grateful Dead (Skull & Roses)
Country of Origin
USA / Canada
Mono / Stereo

Rolling Stone (11/11/71, pp.55-56) - "...a mixture of pleasant good-time music and solid solos, brought up and made even more attractive by the Dead's uniquely rich and magestic sound..." -Lenny Kaye
Q (7/93, p.107) - 3 Stars - Good - "...It's on originals like Garcia's haunting, melancholic 'Wharf Rat' and Bob Weir's tricky 'Playing In The Band' that they're at their best and Bill Kreutzmann's bomping drums are things of joy as ever..."
Down Beat (1/02, p.74) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Clarified the band's instrumental strengths and a propensity for collective improv..."

  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Bertha
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Wharf Rat
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Not Fade Away / Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Oh Boy
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] I'm A Hog For You
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Bonus Track 1
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Mama Tried
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Big Railroad Blues
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Playing In The Band
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] The Other One
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Me And My Uncle
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Big Boss Man
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Me And Bobby McGee
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Johnny B Goode
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Bertha
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Mama Tried
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Big Railroad Blues
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Playing in the Band
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Other One, The
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Me & My Uncle
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Big Boss Man
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Me & Bobby McGee
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Johnny B. Goode
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Wharf Rat
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Not Fade Away / Goin' Down The Road Feelin' Bad
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Oh, Boy! - (bonus track)
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] I'm a Hog For You - (bonus track)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] (Untitled) - (hidden track)
Pop / Rock
Release Date
27 January 2003
South Africa

Contains an untitled hidden track which follows "I'm A Hog For You."
Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass instrument); Ron "Pigpen" McKernan (harmonica, organ, background vocals); Bill Kreutzmann (drums).
Additional personnel: Merl Saunders (organ).
One of the things that made the Dead such a unique live act was the sheer variety of their influences. The vastness of the musical terrain they covered is well demonstrated on 1971's GRATEFUL DEAD, nicknamed "Skull & Roses" because of its cover art. It captures the band's live sound at a time when their marathon, acid-inspired concerts were swiftly becoming the stuff of legend and earning them legions of new fans.
This set conveys the typical arc of a Dead show. The band could be economical and straightforward, with brisk, stripped-down numbers like the lilting "Bertha," the straight-forward country of "Me and My Uncle" and Merle Haggard's "Mama Tried," and the country-folk of "Me and Bobby McGee." They could just as easily go into lugubrious album-side-filling improvisations like "The Other One," and pump out loose-limbed, groovy versions of '50s rockers like Buddy Holly's "Not Fade Away" and Chuck Berry's "Johnny B. Goode." The set concludes with the laid-back, joyous jam of the traditional "Goin' Down the Road Feelin Bad." Conspicuous in his absence is singer/keyboardist Ron "Pigpen" McKernan, whose alcoholism was beginning to take its toll.

Date Released
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Grateful Dead
Grateful Dead
  1. Grateful Dead
WEA (Distributor)
Bob Matthews; Betty Cantor
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 209

Shop by Department