Jack Penate - Matinee (Special Edition) (CD)

Jack Penate

Write a review

R 179

List Price R 191


eB1 790

Discovery Miles  1 790

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Rock & Pop
    3. Alternative
    Number of Items
    Country of Origin
    USA / Canada
    Xl Recordings
    Blender (Magazine) (p.100) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[H]is unabashed zest is winning....Penate never forgets that even quasi-protest songs need a good beat."
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Spit At Stars
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Got My Favourite
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Have I Been A Fool?
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Torn On The Platform
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Learning Lines
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Run For Your Life
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] We Will Be Here
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Made Of Codes
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] My Yvonne
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Second, Minute Or Hour
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] When We Die
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Spit at Stars
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Got My Favourite....
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Have I Been a Fool?
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Torn on the Platform
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Learning Lines
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Run for Your Life
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] We Will Be Here
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Made of Codes
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] My Yvonne
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Second, Minute or Hour
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] When We Die/Picture Frames
    Pop / Rock
    Release Date
    28 January 2008
    41m 16s
    South Africa

    Personnel: Jack Pe¤ate (vocals, guitar, charango, piano, glockenspiel); Ramble Jon Krohn (piano, organ); Joel Porter (bass guitar); Alex Robins (drums, percussion); Denny Weston, Jr. (drums).
    Audio Mixers: Tony Hoffer; Cenzo Townshend.
    Recording information: Mayfair Studios; St. Barnabas Church, Ealing; The Dairy, London, England; The Premises, London, England; The Sound Factory.
    Illustrator: Jack Pe¤ate.
    Photographer: Ali Mobasser.
    Jack Penate got himself a hip producer in Jim Abbiss -- who had previously worked with the Arctic Monkeys, Editors, and Kasabian -- and released his debut album, Matinee, in the autumn of 2007. He already had the dance moves, the loud shirts, and an interesting set on the London club scene, so here was a chance to show that the music was worthy, too. With a singing style in the cockney accent of Lily Allen or Kate Nash, he differentiated himself from these singers by actually playing the guitar himself, with mixture of skiffle and ska, especially on the hit single "Torn on the Platform." Matinee included all the tracks that he had been performing live for over a year, including "Got My Favourite...," which had originally been released as a limited-edition 7" single, and "Spit at Stars," the lead track from his debut EP release. It wasn't all skiffle-style guitar, though -- the track "Run for Your Life," about an attempting mugging, gave the impression of running away to a pounding beat. The ballad "My Yvonne" was a plea from the heart, and "We Will Be Here" was a song with many different tempos, the verse opening as a heartfelt ballad and the chorus pumping the beat, and it introduced strings on a track for the first time. The backing music on both "Made of Codes" and "Second, Minute or Hour," which was the second official single, was very similar to the Housemartins' 1980s hit "Happy Hour," and the album ended with the mournful "When We Die," the titular phrase repeated over and over until fade-out, and a hidden track, "Picture Frames," which was an extension of the earlier song "Learning Lines." ~ Sharon Mawer

    Date Released
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Jack Pe¤ate
    Jack Penate; Jim Abbiss; Tony Hoffer
    1. Penate, Jack
    Justin Underhill; Todd Burke; Tony Hoffer
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 179

    Shop by Department