Kyle Shepherd - Dream State (CD)

Kyle Shepherd

Write a review

R 149

eB1 490

Discovery Miles  1 490

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

Renowned and acclaimed South African pianist and composer (2014’s “Standard Bank Young Artist of the year” [SBYA]) - Kyle Shepherd – releases his new double CD album “Dream State”.

The album marks and celebrates the 5th anniversary of the existence of the Kyle Shepherd Trio, which features Kyle Shepherd on piano; Shane Cooper (2013 SBYA recipient (and also that year’s jazz SAMA award winner)) on double bass; with Jonno Sweetman on drums. The album also features pre-eminent SA saxophonist Buddy Wells on 5 tracks.

In this studio recording, the Trio, magnificently captures the fluidity, intensity and inventiveness of its live performances, that have entranced audiences across South Africa and also abroad. There is a natural synthesis and well-honed interplay that has evolved between Shepherd, Cooper and Sweetman over the years.

Renowned arts journalist, Percy Mabandu (succinctly described the ethos of the trio in this way:

“There's a palpable connectedness they share as players, a connection that also touches attuned audiences at their live performances too. This band is on a search for more than beautiful notes. They are asking more of the music. Its corporeal and ethereal aspects are invoked into the simultaneous sound ritual. Each performance takes on the nature of a meditation and as Zim Ngqawana said, ‘the music must lead us towards ourselves’. ”

‘Dream State’ which was recorded by Peter Auret at the “Sumo Sound Recording Studio,” mixed by Pål Svenre (Sweden) and mastered by Tim Lengfeld at TL Mastering - is the 27-year old pianist’s 4th Album. His previous critically acclaimed releases, ‘fineART’, ‘A Portrait of Home’ and ‘South African History !X’, have all garnered South African Music Award nominations.

Shepherd’s career nationally and internationally has grown tremendously since the release of his debut album in 2009 - with notable concert appearances, as well as international album releases (notably in Germany and Japan). Shepherd is versatile, and performs either as a solo pianist, as a trio or quartet, as well as in other formats. Using this variety Kyle Shepherd has featured at (amongst others) the following impressive venues and festivals:

Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord and L’Onde Théâtre et Centre d’art as part of the Festival d’Automne à Paris (France). The Bird’s Eye Jazz Club (Switzerland), Jazzwerkstatt Festival Bern (Switzerland), Reformierte Dorfkirche Kleinhüningen (Switzerland), Klubschule St. Gallen (Switzerland). Der Sendesaal, (Germany), Hallenbad Kultur Am Schactweg, (Germany), Body & Soul Jazz Club (Japan), 

Date Released
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] City Monk, Desert Monk
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Family Love
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Re-Invention / Johannesburg
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Dream State
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Xamissa
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Flying Without Leaving The Ground
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Transcendence
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Our House, Our Rules
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] The Seeker
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Siquagamshelane Sonke
  11. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Cape Flats
  12. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Black Star, Unsung Hero
  13. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Xahuri
  14. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Rituals
  15. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] The Painter
  16. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Doekom
  17. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Fatherless
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Senegal
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Rock Art
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] The Sun At Dusk
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Ahimsa
Audio Format
PCM Audio
  1. Shepherd, Kyle
South Africa
Video Disabled
Number of Items
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

Chris, South Africa. 1 June 2016

Bought the CD after seeing their performance at the Stellenbosch Konservatorium. I've been listening to it for a week now. Really good.

R 149

More Buying Choices

R 199

Shipped in 7 to 10 working days
Shop by Department