Politi, Matilde - Folk Songs From Sicily (CD)

Write a review

R 259

eB2 590

Discovery Miles  2 590

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free delivery available | 

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. International
    3. Italian
    Number of Items
    Media Type
    Folk Songs From Sicily
    Country of Origin
    Arc Music
    Mono / Stereo
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] None
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] None
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] None
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] None
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] None
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] None
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] None
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] None
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] None
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] None
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] None
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] None
    13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] None
    14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] None
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Amuninni
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Cumari
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Figghiu Miu
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Cascia
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Aria di Spartenza
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Ringo
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Acula Riali
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Santaninfara
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Marzapaneddu
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Acqua Chi Curri
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Matri Terra
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Semu Ancili
    13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Ruciaruci
    14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Usticana
    Traditional/world Music
    Release Date
    1 March 2010
    South Africa

    Lyricist: Valeria Cimo.
    Personnel: Matilde Politi (vocals, guitar, accordion, concertina, bendir, castanets, bells); Matilde Politi (vocals, guitar, accordion, concertina, frame drum, bendir, castanets, bells); Simona Di Gregorio (vocals, concertina, organetto); Dimitri Voutsinas (vocals); Gabriele Politi, Gabriele Politi (oud, violin, viola); Simona Di Gregorio (concertina, organetto, frame drum); Lelio Giannetto, Lelio Giannetto (double bass); Lajos Zsivkov (darabukka, djembe, bells); Lajos Zsivkov (djembe, bells).
    Audio Mixer: Maurizio Curcio.
    Liner Note Authors: Matilde Politi; Diz Heller; Matilde Politi.
    Recording information: Blue Studio, Monreale, Palermo, Sicily (2008).
    Translators: Diz Heller; Jeannine Blanpain; Ute Entwistle.
    Arranger: Matilde Politi.
    Singer and multi-instrumentalist Politi has spent almost a lifetime investigating the music of her native Sicily. The results, both traditional and original compositions, are here, all very raw and percussive. While some seem basic, others have a more contemporary, jazzy touch. But throughout there's a sense of rootedness that typifies all regional material, in this case very Mediterranean, which means some Arabic influences underpinning rhythms and melodies. She's a powerful vocalist, but one also capable of subtlety -- just listen to the inflections on "Rucairuci," for instance. Her small band produces a large sound, but also knows when to hold back (credit Politi for the arrangements). What's especially interesting is that the new material sits very easily alongside the traditional songs, which often sound surprisingly modern (witness "Ringo," which is not about the Beatle). This style has passed out of fashion, as is the case with so much folk music, and resurrecting gives us a vital link to the past.

    Date Released
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Matilde Politi
    Arcimiccica; Matilde Politi; Matilde Politi; Arcimiccica; Matilde Politi
    1. Politi, Matilde
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 259

    Shop by Department