Silver, Horace - Six Pieces Of Silver (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster) - (EMI Import CD)

Horace Silver

Write a review

R 81


Discovery Miles  810

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Jazz Instrument
    3. Soul Jazz
    Number of Discs
    Number of Items
    6 Pieces of Silver [Remaster]
    Country of Origin
    Blue Note
    EMI Music Distribution
    Mono / Stereo
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Cool Eyes
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Shirl
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Camouflage
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Enchantment
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Senor Blues
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Senor Blues (45 Version)
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Virgo
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] For Heaven's Sake
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Tippin'
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Senor Blues (Vocal Version)
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Cool Eyes
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Shirl
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Camouflage
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Enchantment
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Senor Blues
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Virgo
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] For Heaven's Sake
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Senor Blues - (alternate take, bonus track)
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Tippin' - (bonus track)
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Senor Blues - (vocal version, bonus track)
    Release Date
    2 October 2000
    South Africa

    Personnel: Horace Silver (piano); Bill Henderson (vocals); Hank Mobley, Junior Cook (tenor saxophone); Donald Byrd (trumpet); Doug Watkins, Gene Taylor (bass); Louis Hayes (drums).
    Producer: Alfred Lion.
    Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
    Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey on November 10, 1956 and June 15, 1958. Originally released on Blue Note (1539). Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather and Bob Blumenthal.
    Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Rudy Van Gelder (2000, Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey).
    This is part of the Blue Note Rudy Van Gelder Editions series.
    The Horace Silver Blue Note catalog would not be complete without SIX PIECES OF SILVER, a session that put the pianist on the map as a leader. After leaving the Jazz Messengers to Art Blakey, this session gave Silver a solid foothold as a solo hard bop contender, as witnessed by the ultra-funky "Senor Blues." Though his classic quintet was a few years off, SIX PIECES features many of Silver's Messengers cohorts including Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley, Doug Watkins, and the drummer that best suited the funky pianist, Louis Hayes.
    The session gets off to a rocking start with "Cool Eyes," a swinging testament to Silver's writing and arranging strengths. Switching gears drastically, the somber ballad "Shirl" is one of his most introspective works. The often-covered hit "Senor Blues" is presented here in three versions: the regular album-length take, a shorter single version, and a vocal rendition by singer Bill Henderson, who was then a newcomer on the New York scene. The only standard of the set, the classic "For Heaven's Sake," is a touching ballad that remains a favorite of many pianists, and Silver performs it here with his usual superb taste.

    Date Released
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Horace Silver/Horace Silver Quintet
    1. Silver, Horace
    58m 2s
    Rudy VanGelder

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 81

    Shop by Department