Stan Getz/joao Gilberto - Getz/Gilberto #2 (CD)

Stan Getz

Write a review

R 159

eB1 590

Discovery Miles  1 590

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

What does this mean?

You can pay for this item with cash when your driver delivers your goods.

How does it work?

Select Cash On Delivery (COD) as your payment option when you checkout. Have the exact amount of cash ready for our friendly delivery driver when he arrives.

Is COD available on every order?

No. We don’t offer COD for:

  • Digital products (e.g. eBooks, gift vouchers or airtime)
  • Customised products (e.g. a sports shirt printed with a personalised name)
  • Orders totalling R5,000 or more
  • Orders being collected from our warehouse
  • Delivery addresses falling outside of our Mr D. Courier area

  • If your order is eligible for COD, it will be displayed as a payment option for you at checkout.

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

    Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


    If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

    Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

    Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

    The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

    When does this policy not apply?

    If the item is:
    • older than 30 days
    • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
    • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
    • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
    • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
    • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
    • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
    • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
    • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

    Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

    1. Performer
    2. Jazz Vocal
    3. Cool
    Number of Items
    Getz/Gilberto #2
    Country of Origin
    USA / Canada
    Mono / Stereo
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Grandfather's Waltz
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Tonight I Shall Sleep With A Smile On My Face
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Stan's Blues
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Here's That Rainy Day
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Samba Da Minha Terra
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Rosa Morena
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Um Abraco No Bonfa
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Bim Bom (1964/new York) - (live)
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Meditacao
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] O Pato (the Duck)
    11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] It Might As Well Be Spring (1964 Studio)
    12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Only Trust Your Heart
    13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Corcovado (quiet Night Of Quiet Stars) (live 1964/carnegie Hall) - (live)
    14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Girl From Ipanema, The (live 1964/carnegie Hall) - (live)
    15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Voce E Eu
    Songs / Tracks
    1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Granfather's Waltz
    2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Tonight I Shall Sleep (With A Smile On My Face)
    3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Stan's Blues
    4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Here's That Rainy Day
    5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Samba De Minha Terra
    6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Rosa Moreno
    7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Um Abraco No Bonfa
    8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Bim Bom
    9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Meditation
    10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] O Pato
    Release Date
    11 June 2008

    Personnel: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Joao Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Gary Burton (vibraphone); Gene Cherico, Keter Betts (bass); Joe Hunt, Helcio Melito (drums).
    Producer: Creed Taylor.
    Reissue producer: Michael Lang.
    Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on October 9, 1964. Includes liner notes by James T. Maher and Mary Cleere Haran.
    Digitally remastered by Tom "Curly" Ruff (Polygram Studios).
    Personnel: Joao Gilberto (guitar); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Gary Burton (vibraphone); Keter Betts, Gene Cherico (bass instrument); H‚lcio Milito, Joe Hunt (drums).
    Justifiably overshadowed by the peerless Getz/Gilberto album (which featured "Girl From Ipanema") from a year before, Getz/Gilberto #2 still holds its own with an appealing selection of fine jazz and bossa nova cuts. Unlike the first album's seamless collaboration by Getz, Joao Gilberto, Astrud Gilberto, and Antonio Carlos Jobim, here Getz and Joao Gilberto turn in separate sets recorded live at Carnegie Hall in October of 1964. Backed by a stellar quartet comprised of vibraphonist Gary Burton, bassist Gene Cherico, and drummer Joe Hunt, Getz turns in a sparkling performances on the seldom covered ballad "Tonight I'll Shall Sleep With a Smile On My Face," while stretching out nicely on his original blues swinger "Stan's Blues." With the support of bassist Keeter Betts and drummer Helcio Milito, Gilberto displays his subtle vocal and guitar talents on a set of bossa nova favorites, including his own "Bim Bom" and Jobim's "Meditation." An appealing title amongst Getz's many bossa nova outings, but not an essential one. Newcomers should definitely start with the Getz/Gilberto album before checking this one out. ~ Stephen Cook

    Universal Distribution
    Audio Format
    PCM Audio
    Studio / Live
    Video Disabled
    Joao Gilberto/Stan Getz (Sax)
    1. Getz, Stan / Joao Gilberto
    Date Released
    2008-04-01 00:00:00
    Rudy VanGelder
    Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

    No reviews yet.

    Be the first!

    R 159

    More Buying Choices

    R 225

    Shipped in 7 to 10 working days
    Shop by Department