Two Steps from the Blues - (Import CD)

Bobby Bland

R 85


Discovery Miles  850

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 days. Learn more

Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Blues
  3. Texas/W. Coast Blues
Mono / Stereo
Andy McKaie (Reissue)
Two Steps from the Blues

This reissue contains two bonus tracks from the original LP sessions.
Personnel includes: Bobby "Blue" Bland (vocals); Wayne Bennett, Clarence Holloman (guitar); Robert Skinner, L.A. Hill (tenor saxophone); Rayfield Devers (baritone saxophone); Joe Scott, Melvin Jackson (trumpet); Pluma Davis (trombone); Connie Mack Booker, Teddy Reynolds (piano); Hamp Simmons (bass); John "Jabo" Starks, Sonny Freeman (drums).
Recorded between March 12, 1956 and November 12, 1960. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl and Dzondria Lalsac.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Mastering).
Personnel: Bobby "Blue" Bland (vocals); Wayne Bennett (guitar); Joe Scott (trumpet); Pluma Davis (trombone); Connie Mack Booker, Teddy Reynolds (piano); John Starks, Sonny Freeman (drums).
Recording information: Chicago, IL (03/12/1956-11/12/1960); Houston, TX (03/12/1956-11/12/1960).
If you are unfamiliar with Bobby Bland, TWO STEPS FROM THE BLUES is the place to start. The album marked a watershed of creative bursts and commercial recognition for the legendary blues singer. The foundation of TWO STEPS' blues was an uptown Texas blues sound, relying more on sophisticated arrangements, horns, and orchestras than gut-bucket Delta guitar heroics. Inside the lush grooves, Bland moved with restraint, crooning seductively, a tried-and-true ladies man. Which is not to say that Bland is all smooth grooves and sweet nothings. No, his gospel roots rise up like thunderclouds at precise moments, erupting to transform the album's ballads into rattling experiences. The undeniable power of Bland's squalls punctuates "Cry, Cry, Cry" and "I Pity the Fool." His trademark mixture of smoky crooning and strangled outbursts has helped place Bobby Bland alongside the best R&B singers of the century.

Country of Origin
Studio / Live
Bobby "Blue" Bland
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Two Steps From the Blues
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Cry Cry Cry
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] I'm Not Ashamed
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Don't Cry No More
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Lead Me On
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I Pity the Fool
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] I've Just Got to Forget You
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Little Boy Blue
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] St. James Infirmary
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] I'll Take Care of You
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] I Don't Want No Woman
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] I've Been Wrong So Long
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] How Does a Cheatin' Woman Feel - (bonus track)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Close to You - (bonus track)
  1. Bobby Bland
  2. Bobby "Blue" Bland
Universal Distribution
Q (2/93, p.87) - "...the leanness of the instrumentation and the simple but clever arrangements deepen the pervasive air of plaintive, lonesome melancholy..."
29m 44s
Video Disabled

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 85

Shop by Department