25 Hits from the British Invasion - (Import CD)


Write a review

R 335

eB3 350

Discovery Miles  3 350

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Collection
  2. Easy Listening
  3. Orchestral
Mono / Stereo
David Nicolson; Geoff Stephens; George Martin; Giorgio Gomelsky; Carter-Lewis; Jerry Dennon; Joe Meek; John Carter; Jonathan King; Ken Jones; Alan Price; Mick Jagger; Mickie Most; Andrew Loog Oldham; Peter Eden; Ron Richards; Shel Talmy; Terry Kennedy; Tony Hatch; Tony Macaulay; John Barry
25 Hits from the British Invasion

Includes liner notes by Ian Whitcomb.
Liner Note Author: Ian Whitcomb.
Recording information: England.
Arranger: Tony Hatch.
As a single-disc compilation of British Invasion hits, this has a lot of shortcomings that prevent it from being close to an optimum British Invasion best-of, though it has a good deal of fine music. The strongest point in its favor is its quantity: there are 25 songs here of various British Invasion styles, which is good value for one CD. The drawbacks are several, starting with the most obvious one, which is the absence of any hits from the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Kinks, or the Who, presumably due to licensing restrictions. Also, however, several important British Invasion artists are not represented with one of their best hits, again probably due to licensing restrictions. No one would place the Dave Clark Five's "I Knew It All the Time" as one of their more memorable singles; it just happens to be available because it predates the body of work (including all of their important hits) that can't be licensed. The Animals' "Boom Boom" is not the hit studio version, but a live 1963 performance. Several of the songs filling out the program are pop-oriented tunes that are not what anyone would consider upper-crust British Invasion classics, like Chris Farlowe's "Out of Time," Jonathan King's "Everyone's Gone to the Moon," Twice As Much's "Sittin' on a Fence," David & Jonathan's "Michelle," the Herd's "I Don't Want Our Loving to Die," and Long John Baldry's "Let the Heartaches Begin." On the other hand, you do get a number of classics, like Donovan's "Catch the Wind," the Zombies' "Tell Her No," Lulu's "To Sir With Love," the Yardbirds' "I'm a Man," the Small Faces' "Itchycoo Park," the Searchers' "Love Potion Number Nine," and the Easybeats' "Friday on My Mind" (recorded in the U.K., though the group was Australian). There are also some good just-below-first-level hits like Ian Whitcomb's "You Turn Me On," Unit 4+2's "Concrete and Clay," and the Hollies' "Carrie-Anne," and some good singles that did much better in Britain and might not be familiar to the casual listener, like the Alan Price Set's "I Put a Spell on You" and Hedgehoppers Anonymous' "It's Good News Week." But as a whole, this gives a rather distorted and too-pop-slanted picture of a great phase of '60s rock music that really needs several discs (and a better selection of material) to do it justice. ~ Richie Unterberger

Country of Origin
Varese Vintage
Universal Distribution
Various Artists
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Concrete and Clay - Unit 4+2
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Tell Her No - The Zombies
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Yesterday's Gone - Chad & Jeremy
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Catch the Wind - Donovan
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I Knew It All the Time - The Dave Clark Five
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] My Love - Petula Clark
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] I Put a Spell on You - Alan Price
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Boom Boom - The Animals
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Telstar - The Tornadoes
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] I'm a Man - The Yardbirds
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Love Portion Number Nine - The Searchers
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] You Turn Me On (Turn on Song) - Ian Whitcomb
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] It's Good News Week - Hedgehoppers Anonymous
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Michelle - David & Jonathan
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Carrie Anne - The Hollies
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Pied Piper - Crispian St. Peters
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Everyones' Gone to the Moon - Jonathan King
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Tossing & Turning - The Ivy League
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] To Sir With Love - Lulu
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Sittin' on a Fence - Twice as Much
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] I Don't Want Our Loving to Die - The Herd
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] Let the Heartaches Begin - Long John Baldry
  23. [ Disc 01 Track 23 ] Out of Time - Chris Farlow
  24. [ Disc 01 Track 24 ] Friday on My Mind - The Easybeats
  25. [ Disc 01 Track 25 ] Itchycoo Park - The Small Faces
  2. Various Artists
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 335

Shop by Department