Amerie - In Love & War (CD)

Write a review

R 115

eB1 150

Discovery Miles  1 150

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Contemporary R&B
Number of Items
In Love & War *
Country of Origin
Def Jam (USA)
Mono / Stereo

Rolling Stone (p.75) - 3 stars out of 5 "Both 'Heard 'Em All' and the guitar-flecked 'Dangerous' are vibrant numbers that put the drums up front..."
Entertainment Weekly - "[With] a distinctive funk-pop sound that's still more adventurous than the majority of contemporary R&B. -- Grade: B

  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Tell Me You Love Me
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Why R U
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Pretty Brown
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] More Than Love
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Swag Back
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] You're A Star (interlude)
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Red Eye
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Flowers, The
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Different People
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Dear John
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Heard 'em All [remix] - (remix)
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Heard 'em All
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Dangerous
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Higher
South Africa
Release Date
28 September 2009
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Tell Me You Love Me
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Heard 'Em All
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Dangerous
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Higher
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Why R U
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Pretty Brown
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] More Than Love
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Swag Back
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] You're a Star (Interlude)
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Red Eye
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Flowers, The
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Different People
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Dear John
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Heard 'Em All [Remix] - (Remix, remix)
After "1 Thing" hit the Top Ten of the Hot 100 during the spring of 2005, Amerie was basically invisible. A follow-up single only grazed the Hip-Hop/R&B chart. The singer's next album--and, ironically, best work--2007's adventurous BECAUSE I LOVE IT, wasn't even issued in the U.S., possibly because its lead single slid off the chart within two weeks. Now on Def Jam, Amerie returns with IN LOVE & WAR, an album that is much more creative than its title indicates while also seeming a bit like BECAUSE I LOVE IT redux. As before, Amerie packs all the high-energy material into the first half, where she lays down the law, accosts, and flirts, and she even manages to seem in control when she falls into a romantic trap. "Why R U" is a reminder that no one is better when it comes to breathing new life into a familiar breakbeat, while "Higher" is surprisingly rocking, reigned in just before turning into a sloppy mess. The first half is best when it cools down a bit, as on the rewrite of Mint Condition's "Breaking My Heart (Pretty Brown Eyes)," featuring Trey Songz, and "More Than Love," where Amerie rides more Kool & the Gang horns and gets into an amusing spat with Fabolous. "Swag Back" through "Dear John" is all subdued and deals mostly with the war side--accepting a lost cause, escaping "a living hell," and recovering from it--though "You're a Star" and "Red Eye" provide a reprieve, with the latter the album's only true slow jam. Its alluringly bleary synthesizer cleverly enhances Amerie's half-awake mile-high-club state of bliss.
Universal Distribution
Studio / Live
  1. Amerie
51m 34s
Graham Marsh; Mark "Exit" Goodchild
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 115

Shop by Department