Anthology - (Import CD)

Rick James

Write a review

R 159

eB1 590

Discovery Miles  1 590

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Funk
Rick James (Bass)

Personnel includes: Rick James (vocals, arranger, various instruments);
Teena Marie, Smokey Robinson (vocals); Grandmaster Flash, Roxanne Shante
(rap vocals); John McFee (guitar); Daniel LeMelle (saxophone); Roy Poper (trumpet); John Ervin (trombone); Roy Ayers (vibraphone); Randy Dunlap, Cheryl Dunlap (background vocals).
Producer: Rick James.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Recorded between 1978 & 1988. Includes liner notes by David Ritz.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Of the many Rick James hits compilations available, ANTHOLOGY is one of the best. James was the flagship artist at Motown throughout the late 1970s and '80s, keeping the sound of the label vital and contemporary long after the heyday of the Temptations and Smokey Robinson. Over the course of two discs and 28 tracks, ANTHOLOGY surveys the length of James's Motown tenure, extending all the way up to 1988's "Loosey's Rap" (featuring Roxanne Shante), and representing the performer's mix of classic R&B, disco-inflected dance-floor anthems, '80s electro-groove, and hard party funk.
Like the best Motown artists, James had an outstanding ear as an arranger and producer. His songs feature roiling beds of rhythm, burbling synthesizers, sharp horn charts, swirling strings, and unfolding choruses of male and female backup singers. The biggest hits--"You and I" (James's first single), the exuberant "Give It to Me Baby," and the irrepressible "Super Freak (Part 1)," his signature song--are here. However, the set is also packed with other gems, including collaborations with Smokey Robinson ("Ebony Eyes"), the Temptations ("Standing on the Top [Part 1]"), and Teena Marie ("Fire and Desire"). ANTHOLOGY works perfectly as a retrospective, and as a top-notch sampler of this funk icon's work. (Note: The 22-track GOLD collection features many of the selections found here.)

Universal Motown
Studio / Live
Mono / Stereo
  1. Rick James
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] You And I
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Mary Jane
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Hollywood
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Bustin' Out (On Funk)
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Fire It Up
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Love Gun
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Come Into My Life
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] When Love Has Gone
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Big Time
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Island Lady
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Give It To Me Baby
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Super Freak
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Fire And Desire
  14. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Dance Wit' Me
  15. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Standing On The Top - (featuring Rick James)
  16. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Hard To Get
  17. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Happy
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] 69 Times
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] My Love
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] U Bring The Freak Out
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Cold Blooded
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Ebony Eyes - (featuring Smokey Robinson)
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] P.I.M.P. The S.I.M.P.
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] 17
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Glow
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Moon Child
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Sweet And Sexy Thing
Universal Distribution

Q (9/02, p.126) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...It's hard to argue with music this determined..."
Mojo (Publisher) (9/02, p.116) - "James pulls out all the stops, drawing from jazz and old-school R&B riffs and reggae, Detroit soul, and even rock 'n' roll...this is a well-annotated anthology that paints an honest picture of the artist and his oeuvre, [however] raw and revealing it may be."

Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 159

Shop by Department