Anthology-Through the Years - (Import CD)

Tom Petty

Write a review

R 375

eB3 750

Discovery Miles  3 750

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Hard Rock
Mono / Stereo
Anthology: Through the Years

ANTHOLOGY: THROUGH THE YEARS includes the previously unreleased "Surrender" and "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" (with Stevie Nicks).
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Mike Campbell (guitar, bass); Benmont Tench (keyboards, background vocals); Howie Epstein (bass, background vocals); Ron Blair (bass); Stan Lynch (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Stevie Nicks (vocals); Scott Thurston (guitar); David A. Stewart (Coral sitar); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Steve Ferrone, Jim Keltner (drums); Jeff Lynne, George Harrison, The Bangles (background vocals).
Producers include: Denny Cordell, Rick Rubin, Jeff Lynne, Jimmy Iovine, Noah Shark.
Recorded between 1976 and August 2000. Includes liner notes by Cameron Crowe.
Digitally remastered by Joe Gaswirt (OceanView Mastering, Los Angeles, California).
Personnel: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Benmont Tench (vocals, keyboards); Stan Lynch (vocals, drums); Howie Epstein, George Harrison (vocals); Mike Campbell , Scott Thurston (guitar); Dave Stewart (coral sitar); Jim Keltner, Steve Ferrone (drums); Phil Seymour (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: George Drakoulias; Jim Scott .
Neatly fitting in between 1993's GREATEST HITS and the 5-CD PLAYBACK box set that came out two years later, this 34-track collection is a chronological tour of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers' MCA Records material. The consistent quality found throughout this two-CD set that's bookended by the sinister-sounding "Breakdown" and chiming "Surrender"(a song Petty wrote in the '70s but didn't get around to recording until August 2000) boggles the mind.
Tight playing and a palpable sense of passion from the four-piece Heartbreakers transform songs like "Even the Losers", "Rebels" and "Mary Jane's Last Dance" into rock & roll manna. Elsewhere, this Floridian singer-songwriter's sharp eye for pop culture ("Jammin' Me") and storytelling mastery ("Into the Great Wide Open," "Two Gunslingers") become pleasantly recurring characteristics. The inclusion of a scorching live version of the Byrds' "So You Wanna Be a Rock 'N' Roll Star" show Petty and company to be as potent on stage as in the studio. By the end of this musical tour it's hard to argue with the lofty statement Cameron Crowe makes in his liner notes calling Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers "...the greatest and most consistent American band of the last twenty-five years..."

Country of Origin
Universal Distribution
Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Breakdown
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] American Girl
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Hometown Blues
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Wild One, Forever, The
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I Need to Know
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Listen to Her Heart
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Too Much Ain't Enough
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Refugee
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Here Comes My Girl
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Don't Do Me Like That
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Even the Losers
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Waiting, The
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Woman in Love, A (It's Not Me)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Stop Draggin' My Heart Around - (previously unreleased)
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] You Got Lucky
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Straight into Darkness
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Change of Heart
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Rebels
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Don't Come Around Here No More
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Best of Everything, The
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] So You Want to Be a Rock & Roll Star
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Jammin' Me
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] It'll All Work Out
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Love Is a Long Road
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Free Fallin'
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Yer So Bad
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] I Won't Back Down
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Runnin' Down a Dream
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Learning to Fly
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Into the Great Wide Open
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Two Gunslingers
  32. [ Disc 02 Track 15 ] Mary Jane's Last Dance
  33. [ Disc 02 Track 16 ] Waiting for Tonight
  34. [ Disc 02 Track 17 ] Surrender - (previously unreleased)
  1. Tom Petty
  2. Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
Studio / Live

Entertainment Weekly (12/1/00, p.102) - "...It's hard to imagine a better summary of the Heartbreakers' 25-year career." - Rating: A
Q (8/01, p.154) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Conatins most [of his essential tracks], and more, including '81s Stevie Nicks duet..."
Uncut (2/01, p.80) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...A century of great American music from a great American institution..."

Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 375

Shop by Department