At San Quentin - (Import CD)

Johnny Cash

R 779

eB7 790

Discovery Miles  7 790

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Free Delivery Available

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Musical & Performing Arts
  2. Pop Music
  3. Concert
  4. Country Music
  5. Prison/Prisoners
  6. Music (General)
  7. Country
  8. Concerts
  9. Country Music
  10. Live Performances
Number of Items
Johnny Cash at San Quentin [Box] [Remaster]
Country of Origin
  1. English (Original)
Released By
Sony Music Distribution
Mono / Stereo

Entertainment Weekly (p.97) - "[Cash was] all but inciting riots with his rockers and incendiary remarks, then calming the captives with hymns." -- Grade: A
Q (p.126) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] gruff, no-frills performer with a voice like a bag of rusty nails scattering noisily over his career highlights."
CMJ (6/19/00, p.32) - "...This beefed-up landmark release reissue contains nearly an album's worth of extra material..."
Dirty Linen (p.56) - "[I]t is certainly the stuff of legend, and this expanded edition brings the drama and excitement of that evening back to life."

Release Status
In Print
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Blue Suede Shoes - (previously unreleased)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Flowers on the Wall - (previously unreleased)
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Last Thing on My Mind, The - (previously unreleased)
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] June Carter Cash Talks to the Audience - (previously unreleased)
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Wildwood Flower - (previously unreleased)
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Big River
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] I Still Miss Someone
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Wreck of the Old 97
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] I Walk the Line
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] The Long Black Veil / Give My Love To Rose - (previously unreleased)
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Folsom Prison Blues
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Orange Blossom Special - (previously unreleased)
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Jackson - (previously unreleased)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Darlin' Companion
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Break My Mind - (previously unreleased)
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] I Don't Know Where I'm Bound
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Starkville City Jail
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] San Quentin
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] San Quentin
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Wanted Man
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Restless - (previously unreleased)
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Boy Named Sue, A
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Blistered - (previously unreleased)
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Peace in the Valley (There'll Be)
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Outside Looking In, The - (previously unreleased)
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Less of Me - (previously unreleased)
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] Ring of Fire
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] He Turned the Water Into Wine
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Daddy Sang Bass
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Old Account Was Settled Long Ago, The
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Closing Medley: Folsom Prison Blues / I Walk The Line / Ring Of Fire / The Rebel - Johnny Yuma

Personnel: Johnny Cash (vocals, guitar); The Carter Family (vocals, guitar); Carl Perkins (vocals, electric guitar); June Carter Cash, The Statler Brothers (vocals); Bob Wootton (electric guitar); Marshall Grant (bass instrument); W.S. Holland (drums).
One of country music's unequivocal stars, Johnny Cash retained respect for the travails of the audience elevating him to that position. Recorded live at one of America's most notorious prisons, this album displays an empathy bereft of condescension and captures a performer combining charisma with natural ease. The material is balanced between established favorites and new material including "Wanted Man" (an unrecorded Bob Dylan song), and the lighthearted hit "A Boy Named Sue." It was not the first time Cash had recorded in a penal institution, but this appearance, at a time when American values were vociferously questioned, suggested the artist's rebelliousness had not dimmed.

Similar Releases
  1. Status
    In Print
    Kris Kristofferson - Breakthrough
  2. Status
    In Print
    Searching for the Wrong-Eyed Jesus
  3. Status
    In Print
    Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Road to God Knows Where/Live at the Paradiso
  4. Status
    In Print
    Marty Robbins - Legendary Performances
Studio / Live
Release Notes

DVD Features:

Keep Case
Full Frame - 1.33
(unspecified) - English
Additional Products:
2 CD's

Johnny Cash
Bob Johnston
  1. Johnny Cash - At San Quentin (Primary Title - English)
  1. Johnny Cash
Sony Music Distribution (
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 779

Shop by Department