Avalon Blues:Complete 1928 Okeh Recor - (Import CD)

Mississippi Jo Hurt

Write a review

R 105

eB1 050

Discovery Miles  1 050

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Blues
  3. Delta
Mono / Stereo
Avalon Blues: The Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings

All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Although Mississippi John Hurt made his best-known recordings in the 1960s after being rediscovered during the collegiate folk and blues revival, his original 1928 recordings remain his finest work. In contrast to Robert Johnson's hellhound mythology or Bo Carter's salacious hokum, Mississippi John Hurt's original output, as collected on AVALON BLUES: THE COMPLETE 1928 OKEH RECORDINGS, is the gentle day to the perpetual night that over-romanticizing blues historians tend to emphasize.
Hurt wasn't much of a singer even by the non-technical standards of blues, tending to sing in the quiet, thin voice of a man who doesn't know or care if others can hear him or not. It's an endearingly genial voice almost entirely lacking in the familiar swagger most people tend to associate with blues singers. Of course, it was as a guitarist that Hurt truly shone, though--largely self-taught and not part of a specific local style, Hurt developed an idiosyncratic but relaxed method that influenced generations of guitarists, most obviously John Fahey and Leo Kottke.

Country of Origin
Sony Music Distribution (
Mississippi John Hurt
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Frankie
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Nobody's Dirty Business
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Ain't No Tellin'
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Louis Collins
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Avalon Blues
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Big Leg Blues
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Stack O' Lee Blues
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Candy Man Blues
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Got the Blues Can't Be Satisfied
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Blessed Be the Name
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Praying on the Old Camp Ground
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Blue Harvest Blues
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Spike Driver Blues
  1. Mississippi John Hurt
  2. Mississippi Jo Hurt
Studio / Live
Musician (2/97, p.127) - "...stunningly beautiful recordings, at once rooted in the blues of the Mississippi delta where Hurt lived and completely apart from it due to Hurt's syncopated guitar style and favoring of minstrel melodies..."
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 105

Shop by Department