Awake:the Best of Live - (Import CD)


Write a review

R 159

eB1 590

Discovery Miles  1 590

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Alternative
Mono / Stereo
Jerry Harrison; Live; Jay Healy; Alain Johannes
Awake: The Best of Live

Live: Ed Kowalczyk (vocals); Patrick Dahlheimer, Chad Gracey, Chad Taylor .
Additional personnel: Shelby Lynne (vocals); Jerry Harrison, Michael Railton (keyboards).
Liner Note Author: Ed Kowalczyk.
This 19-track greatest-hits collection provides a satisfying overview of one of the most popular heavy-rock acts of the mid-1990s. In the post-grunge era, when "alternative" became a byword for sincere, hard-hitting music with a thunderous guitar attack, Live dominated the charts by blending alt-rock muscle with the brainy, melodic sensibility of bands like R.E.M. and U2. AWAKE represents the band's best moments and, since it gives equal shrift to each of their six albums, serves as an economical career retrospective as well.
"Operation Spirit (The Tyranny of Tradition)" and "Pain Lies on the Riverside," from Live's first album, MENTAL JEWELRY, kick off the set. Both are swirling, tense rock songs driven by a popping, near-funk bass line. THROWING COPPER, the group's sophomore effort, is represented here by the mega-hits "Selling the Drama" (a contemplative rocker), the churning "I Alone," and the forbidding ballad "Lightning Crashes." Though Live's later records didn't match the commercial success of their first two, the orchestral drama of "Overcome," the furious "Lakini's Juice," and even a moody cover of Johnny Cash's "I Walk the Line" prove that the music didn't diminish in quality, even as Live passed out of the mainstream spotlight. A winning collection, AWAKE testifies to Live's conviction and power.

Country of Origin
Radioactive Records
Universal Distribution
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Operation Spirit (The Tyranny of Tradition)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Pain Lies on the Riverside
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Beauty of Gray, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Selling the Drama
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I Alone
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Lightning Crashes
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] All Over You
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Pillar of Davidson
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] We Deal in Dreams - (previously unreleased)
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Lakini's Juice
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Turn My Head
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Dolphin's Cry, The
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Run to the Water
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Dance With You
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Overcome
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Nobody Knows
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Heaven
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Run Away
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] I Walk the Line
  1. Live
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 159

Shop by Department