Battleground- Wanted (CD)

Write a review

R 199

eB1 990

Discovery Miles  1 990

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Teen Pop
Number of Discs
Copy Control
Number of Items
Country of Origin
Island (Label)
Mono / Stereo
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Glad You Came
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Lie To Me
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Gold Forever
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Battleground
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Lightning
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Warzone
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Invincible
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Last To Know
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I'll Be Your Strength
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Rocket
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] I Want It All
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] The Weekend
South Africa
Release Date
18 November 2011
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Glad You Came
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Lightning
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Warzone
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Invincible
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Last To Know
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I'll Be Your Strength
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Rocket
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] I Want It All
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Weekend, The
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Lie To Me
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Gold Forever
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] [CD-ROM Track]

Personnel: The Wanted (vocals).
Recording information: Chestnut; Limestone, Stockholm; Paro Studios, Stockholm; Phats House; Real World Studios; Rokstone Studios, London; The Xception, Ekero, Sweden; Triangle Sound Studios West, Encino, CA; Universal Studios, London.
Eschewing the usual "stand up for the key change ballads" of Westlife, the clich‚d urban "fun in the club" knockoffs of JLS, and the tailor-made stadium rock anthems of Take That, the Wanted burst onto the pop scene in 2010 as one of the more exciting boy bands of their generation. But while their self-titled debut album included everything from The Good, the Bad and the Ugly-sampling dance-rock, angular indie disco, and Coldplay-esque tearjerkers, their follow-up, Battleground, is disappointingly a little more pedestrian. Indeed, having stumbled across a successful dance-pop formula, the quintet now seems scared to deviate from the now trademark brand of trance-lite synths, pulsing beats, and melancholic melodies first showcased on chart-topper "All Time Low." This hands-in-the-air approach dominates the album, whether it's the old-school rave of "The Weekend," the Guetta-esque electro-pop of "Lightning," or the Alphaville-influenced Red Nose Day single "Gold Forever," and while these are all serviceable dance-pop floor-fillers, only the authentic Balearic beats and accordion riffs of "Glad You Came" sound like they weren't spawned from a factory production line. The less uptempo numbers aren't much more inspiring either. There's the obligatory Ryan Tedder-style clattering R&B ballad ("Last to Know"), the dreary acoustic ballad ("I Want It All"), and the Diane Warren-penned power ballad ("Rocket"), which furthers the theory that the Grammy winner hasn't written anything worthwhile in over a decade. However, there are a few flashes of invention proving that the Wanted are still a cut above your average boy band. "Warzone" is a subtle attempt at dubstep that fuses somber piano chords and an epic soft rock chorus with distant wobble basslines and spacious beats, while the muted beats and minimal analog synths of "Be Your Strength" could have escaped from a James Blake record (if you ignore the song's over-earnest vocals). Battleground should still consolidate their position as heirs to the boy band throne, but with the likes of One Direction now snapping at their heels, they'll have to rediscover their inventive streak in the future if they are to ever take the crown. ~ Jon O'Brien

37m 58s
Video Disabled
The Wanted (Boy Band)
  1. The Wanted (Boy Band)
Source UK (UK)
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 199

Shop by Department