Best of Michael Franks:Backwards Glan - (Import CD)

Michael Franks

Write a review

R 105

eB1 050

Discovery Miles  1 050

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Jazz Instrument
  3. Smooth
Mono / Stereo
69m 6s
Best of Michael Franks: A Backward Glance (Reis)
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Popsicle Toes
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Eggplant
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Lady Wants To Know, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Antonio's Song
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] When the Cookie Jar is Empty
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Tiger In the Rain
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Baseball
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Love Duet
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] When Sly Calls
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Your Secret's Safe With Me
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] When I Give My Love To You
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Island Life
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Art of Love, The
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Soul Mate
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Hourglass

Personnel includes: Michael Franks (vocals, acoustic guitar); Larry Carlton, John Tropea, Bucky Pizzarelli, David Spinozza, Hugh McCracken, Jeff Mironov (guitar); Seldon Powell (soprano saxophone); David Sanborn (alto saxophone); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Randy Brecker (flugelhorn); Joe Sample (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Kenny Barron (piano); Rob Mounsey (Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, programming); Leon Pendarvis, Don Grolnick (keyboards); Larry Bunker, Mike Mainieri (vibraphone); Wilton Felder, Will Lee, Ron Carter, Neil Jason, Francisco Centeno (bass); John Guerin (drums, percussion); Steve Gadd, Ben Riley, Rick Marrotta(drums); Victor Feldman, Sue Evans, Luis Conte (percussion).
Producers include: Tommy LiPuma, John Simon, Rob Mounsey, Jeff Lorber, Michael Colina.
Engineers include: Bruce Botnick, Al Schmitt, Glenn Berger.
Jazz-pop maestro Michael Franks carved out a distinctive niche for himself in the 1970s and '80s with his smooth, clever, easygoing singer-songwriter fare. This 15-track compilation provides the perfect introduction to his output, encompassing early pop hits like "Popsicle Toes" and "The Lady Wants to Know," along with gauzy ballads like "Tiger in the Rain" and jazzy '80s hits like "Island Life." Franks's cheeky way with a lyric and sleek, radio-ready sound may be off-putting to some, but repeated listens reveal how well-crafted his songs and arrangements really are. A BACKWARD GLANCE is the premiere Franks primer.

Rhino Flashback
Michael Franks
  1. Michael Franks
Studio / Live
WEA (Distributor)
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 105

Shop by Department