Best of the 1910 Fruitgum Co - (Import CD)

1910 Fruitgum Co.

R 109

eB1 090

Discovery Miles  1 090

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Oldies
  3. Bubble Gum
Mono / Stereo
The Best of the 1910 Fruitgum Company: Simon Says

1910 Fruitgum Company includes: Frank Jeckell, Pat Karwan (vocals, guitar); Mark Gutkowski (vocals, organ); Floyd Marcus (vocals, drums); Steve Mortkowitz (bass).
Producers include: J. Katz, J. Kasenetz, Carl R. Whitelaw, E. Chirput, M. Gutkowski.
Compilation producers: Rob Santos, Paul Williams.
Includes liner notes by Kim Cooper.
Digitally remastered by Dennis Ferrante (BMG Studios, New York, New York).
Personnel: Chuck Travis (vocals, guitar); Larry Ripley (vocals, horns); Bruce Shay (vocals, percussion); Floyd Marcus (drums).
Liner Note Author: Kim Cooper .
Recording information: 1968-1969.
The Best of the 1910 Fruitgum Company: Simon Says is the only thorough CD compilation available domestically -- although their first four long-players have been issued on compact disc in either Japan or Europe. The appeal of the 1910 Fruitgum Company lies primarily in their effective ability to marry undemanding rhythms to equally puerile premises -- as evidenced in their Top Five hits "Simon Says," "1, 2, 3, Red Light," and "Indian Giver." There were many configurations of musicians under the 1910 Fruitgum Company moniker. The band actually began as a discovery by bubblegum pop music moguls Jerry Kasenetz and Jeff Katz of a Central Ohio group named Jeckell & the Hydes. Before one can say "Bazooka Joe," Kasenetz and Katz had again struck gold, issuing their first farfisa-driven hit, "Simon Says," in late 1967. While the band might have been marketed primarily toward a grade-school audience, their sly and otherwise innocuous lyrical double entendre gave their older brothers and sisters something else to think about. Musically, 1910's churning beat-laden rhythms accompanied by the undeniably catchy abandon of Mark Gutowski's lead vocals gave the band a feel of prepubescent garage pop. As was often the case at the time, actual membership within the group fluctuated wildly. Initial recordings did, however, feature members of Jeckell & the Hydes with professional studio musicians augmenting when necessary. By the time of their fifth release, Hard Ride, there was an entirely different set of musicians behind the microphones. The only personnel to remain were creators Kasenetz and Katz. In addition to the hits The Best of the 1910 Fruitgum Company: Simon Says features, it also includes tracks from the not-as-successful incarnations of the band -- including the ersatz heavy metal/psychedelic "The Train" from Hard Ride. ~ Lindsay Planer

Country of Origin
Buddha Records
Studio / Live
1910 Fruitgum Company
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Simon Says
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] May I Take a Giant Step (Into Your Heart)
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Please Me, Tease Me
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Sweet Lovin'
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] (Play Our Song) Mr. Music Man
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] 1, 2, 3, Red Light
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Candy
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Liza
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Indian Giver
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Dee-Licious
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] 1910 Cotton Candy Castle
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Bubble Gum World
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Special Delivery
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Goody Goody Gumdrops
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Train, The
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Reflections from the Looking Glass
  1. 1910 Fruitgum Company
  2. 1910 Fruitgum Co.
Sony Music Distribution (
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 109

Shop by Department