Ceremonials - (Import CD)

Florence & the Machi

R 379

eB3 790

Discovery Miles  3 790

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Alternative
Florence + the Machine
Paul Epworth
Ceremonials [Deluxe Edition] [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]

Personnel: Florence Welch (vocals); Rob Ackroyd (guitar); Tom Monger (harp); Christopher Lloyd Hayden (drums).
Liner Note Author: Emma Forrest.
Recording information: Abbey Road; Antenna Studios; Dean St. Studios; Nike Studios, London; Wolf Tone Studios, London.
Photographer: Tom Beard.
There's a point just past the halfway mark on "Shake It Out," the rousing first single from Florence + the Machine's second studio release, when the swelling guitars, organs, and strings, staccato percussion, and Florence Welch's air-raid siren of a voice lock up in a herculean battle over which one is going to launch itself into the stratosphere first. It's a contest that plays out at least once on each of Ceremonials' immaculately produced 12 tracks. Such carefully calculated moments of rhapsody would dissolve into redundant treacle in less capable hands, but Welch does emotional bombast better than any of her contemporaries, and when she wails into the black abyss above, the listener can't help but return the call. Bigger and bolder than 2009's excellent Lungs, Ceremonials rolls in like fog over the Thames, doling out a heavy-handed mix of Brit-pop-infused neo-soul anthems and lush, movie trailer-ready ballads that fuse the bluesy, electro-despair of Adele with the ornate, gothic melodrama of Kate Bush and Floodland-era Sisters of Mercy. Producer Paul Epworth (Bloc Party, Friendly Fires) knows that the fiercest weapon in his arsenal is Florence herself, and he stacks her vocals accordingly, creating a fevered, pagan gospel choir on "What the Water Gave Me" and "Leave My Body," a ghostly, Phil Spector-ish chorale on the surprisingly Beatlesque "Breaking Down," and a defiant, uplifting horde of merry pranksters on the spirited "Heartlines," resulting in that rare sophomore outing that not only manages to avoid the slump, but bests its predecessor in the process. [A deluxe edition of Ceremonials features three bonus studio tracks, as well as a demo version of "What the Water Gave Me."] ~ James Christopher Monger

Country of Origin
Universal Republic
72m 20s
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Only If for a Night
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Shake It Out
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] What the Water Gave Me
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Never Let Me Go
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Breaking Down
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Lover to Lover
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] No Light, No Light
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Seven Devils
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Heartlines
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Spectrum
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] All This and Heaven Too
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Leave My Body
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Remain Nameless
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Strangeness and Charm
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Bedroom Hymns
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] What the Water Gave Me
  1. Florence & the Machi
  2. Florence + the machine
Universal Distribution

Rolling Stone (p.77) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "This is a very British record, drawing on a tradition of iconoclastic U.K pop that stretches from Kate Bush and Siouxsie and the Banshees to PJ Harvey."
Rolling Stone (p.71) - Ranked #27 in Rolling Stone's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[With] choirs and string players backing a voice that soars so high, it makes them seem like ants on the ground below."
Spin (p.67) - "[Welch is] a bloodied, bloodying songbird in a gilded cage of immaculately crafted, slow-burn, chest-beating empowerment anthems, gripping steel bars that her elegantly volcanic voice could shred at any moment."
Entertainment Weekly (p.74) - "[A] confident, unflinching tour de force....CEREMONIALS genuinely rocks..." -- Grade: A
Entertainment Weekly (p.100) - Ranked #5 in Entertainment Weekly's 'The Top 10 Albums Of 2011' -- "A big believer in Red Sea-parting melodrama, she's got the orchestral grandeur to pull it off."
Magnet (p.55) - "There's a marked '80s quality to the production that invigorates the music and nudges it into a meatier realm."

Video Disabled
Mark Rankin
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 379

Shop by Department