Classic Railroad Songs from Smithsoni - (Import CD)


Write a review

R 229

eB2 290

Discovery Miles  2 290

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Collection
  2. Country
  3. Bluegrass
Mono / Stereo
Jeff Place (Compilation)
Classic Railroad Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

Personnel: Mike Seeger (vocals, guitar, banjo, autoharp); Tracy Schwarz (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Doc Watson (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Cisco Houston, Elizabeth Cotten, Furry Lewis, Walt Robertson , Leadbelly, Woody Guthrie, Brownie McGhee (vocals, guitar); Eric Davidson, Pete Seeger (vocals, banjo); Henry Grady Terrell (vocals, percussion); Rosalie Sorrels, Annie Watson (vocals); John Cohen (guitar, banjo); Bobby Harrison (guitar); Ivor Melton (mandolin); Caleb Finch, Glen Neaves (fiddle); Vernon L. Sutphin, Sonny Terry, John D. Mounce (harmonica).
Recording information: Athens, GA (02/20/1942-07/03/1981); New York, NY (02/20/1942-07/03/1981).
Editor: Carla Borden.
Arrangers: Doc Watson; Huddie Ledbetter; A.P. Carter.
Smithsonian Folkways ninth installment of its popular Classic Series chronicles the golden age of the American railroad. Classic Railroad Songs from Smithsonian Folkways picks up where 2004's Classic Maritime Music collection left off, unearthing previously unheard of gems from their archives along with classics from some of the genre's finest practitioners. Twenty-one of these remarkable folk songs, field recordings, tall tales, and work songs appear on CD for the first time, from the crisp a cappella "F.F.V.," performed by Annie Watson (mother of Doc Watson), to Cisco Houston's rousing "Drill, Ye Tarriers, Drill" from his 1968 Sings American Folk Songs anthology. Compiled by Grammy Winner Jeff Place, Classic Railroad Songs is enriched by rare photos from the Library of Congress and there are detailed liner notes for each and every one of the 29 cuts which provide a glimpse into the hobo lifestyle of legendary characters like Harry McClintock, Leadbelly, and Furry Lewis -- the latter lost a leg in 1917 in a railway accident. ~ James Christopher Monger

Country of Origin
Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Ryko Distribution
Various Artists
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Rail Dynamics (Excerpt) - Emory Cook (Excerpt)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Train 45 - The New Lost City Ramblers
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Kassie Jones - Furry Lewis
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Jay Gould's Daughter - Pete Seeger
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Railroad Bill - Walt Robertson
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Linin' Track - Leadbelly
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotten
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Drill, Ye Tarriers, Drill - Cisco Houston
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Zack, The Mormon Engineer - L.M. Hilton
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Lost Train Blues - Virginia Mountain Boys
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] F.F.V., The - Annie Watson (previously unreleased)
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] He's Coming to Us Dead - The New Lost City Ramblers
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Train That Carried My Girl from Town, The - Doc Watson
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Rock Island Line - Leadbelly
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Lonesome Train - Cisco Houston/Sonny Terry/Woody Guthrie
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] John Henry - Cisco Houston/Woody Guthrie
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Wreck of the Number Nine, The - Rosalie Sorrels
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Freight Train Blues - Brownie McGhee
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] New Market Wreck, The - Mike Seeger
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Jerry, Go and Oil That Car - Harry McClintock
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] Way Out in Idaho - Rosalie Sorrels
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] Old John Henry Died on the Mountain - Henry Grady Terrell
  23. [ Disc 01 Track 23 ] Casey Jones - John D. Mounce
  24. [ Disc 01 Track 24 ] Wreck of the Old 97 - Pop Stoneman
  25. [ Disc 01 Track 25 ] Midnight Special - Leadbelly
  26. [ Disc 01 Track 26 ] Wabash Cannonball - Doc Watson
  27. [ Disc 01 Track 27 ] Lost Train Blues - Vernon L. Sutphin
  28. [ Disc 01 Track 28 ] New River Train - Iron Mountain String Band
  29. [ Disc 01 Track 29 ] Three Little Engines and 33 Cars (Excerpt) - Vinton Wight (Excerpt)
  2. Various Artists
Studio / Live
Dirty Linen (p.86) - "[S]tocked full of beloved and obscure trains songs. This generous collection brings together 29 blues, country, old-time, and folk tunes with railroad themes..."
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 229

Shop by Department