Come a Little Closer:Best of Jay & Th - (Import CD)

Jay & the Americans

R 169

eB1 690

Discovery Miles  1 690

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Oldies
Jay & the Americans

Producers include: Leiber & Stoller, Artie Ripp, Gerry Granahan, Bob Feldman, Joe Wissert.
The definitive Jay & the Americans collection, Come a Little Bit Closer: The Best of Jay & the Americans, collects the highlights of the band's career with each of its lead singers, Jay Traynor and Jay Black. Traynor was the voice behind the group's first big hit, 1962's "She Cried," as well as singles like "Dawning," the melody of which cleverly mimics Edvard Grieg's "Morning Mood" and a laid-back version of "Tonight" from West Side Story. It's too bad that the Americans didn't wait to record that last song until Black had entered their fold. His impressive range and theatrical delivery made songs like "Only in America" sound like they were from some forgotten musical and made the band's version of "Crying" closely rival Roy Orbison's original. Along with the title track, "Come a Little Bit Closer" also features the hits "Cara Mia" -- one of the best showcases for Black's vocal prowess -- and "This Magic Moment," as well as sound-alike follow-ups like "Let's Lock the Door (And Throw Away the Key)," "Some Enchanted Evening," and "Sunday and Me." The group's attempts to graft folk-rock and psychedelic pop to their own sound on "(He's) Raining in My Sunshine" and "(We'll Meet in the) Yellow Forest" aren't entirely successful, but they are interesting -- perhaps more interesting than the band's better-known songs. Not all of the collection's 28 tracks are strictly necessary, but that's what makes it so comprehensive. Casual fans of Jay & the Americans might only need a dozen-track collection to satisfy their needs, but for the fans who need all the hits, some choice album tracks, and Italian and Spanish versions of "She Cried" and "Come a Little Bit Closer," this is the collection for them. ~ Heather Phares

Country of Origin
EMI Music Distribution
Studio / Live
Mono / Stereo
  1. Jay & the Americans
Come a Little Bit Closer: The Best of Jay & the Americans
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Tonight
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] She Cried
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Dawning
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] This Is It
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Tomorrow
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Yes
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Only in America
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Come Dance With Me
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Come a Little Bit Closer
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Let's Lock the Door and Throw Away the Key
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Think of the Good Times
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Cara Mia
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Some Enchanted Evening
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Sunday and Me
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Why Can't You Bring Me Home
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Crying
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Livin' Above Your Head
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] He's Raining in My Sunshine
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] What Will My Mary Say
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] We'll Meet in the Yellow Forest
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] This Magic Moment
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] Hushabye
  23. [ Disc 01 Track 23 ] Walking in the Rain
  24. [ Disc 01 Track 24 ] Do I Love You?
  25. [ Disc 01 Track 25 ] She Cried - (Italian version)
  26. [ Disc 01 Track 26 ] Come a Little Bit Closer - (Spanish version)
  27. [ Disc 01 Track 27 ] Things Are Changing
  28. [ Disc 01 Track 28 ] H. I. S. Slacks
EMI Music Distribution
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 169

Shop by Department