Complete Red Bird Recordings - (Import CD)

Dixie Cups

Write a review

R 259

eB2 590

Discovery Miles  2 590

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Oldies
  3. Girl Groups
Mono / Stereo
The Complete Red Bird Recordings *

The Dixie Cups: Rosa Lee Hawkins, Barbara Ann Hawkins, Joan Marie Johnson.
Producers: Jerry Lieber, Mike Stoller.
Compilation producers: Cary E. Mansfield, Bill Dahl.
Recorded in 1964-65. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Arrangers: Joe Craig Jones; Mike Stoller; Artie Butler; Wardell Quezergue.
Only three years before the release of this CD, another comprehensive Dixie Cups anthology, Chapel of Love: The Very Best of the Dixie Cups, had appeared on the Collectables label. This has a very slight edge, however, as in addition to including everything from that prior compilation, it adds two more tracks: the fair mid-tempo pop/rocker "Wrong Direction," previously only available on the 1979 import compilation Teen Anguish, Vol. 1, and a less notable mono single version of "Gee the Moon Is Shining Bright." In any case, it's a very good collection, containing the A-sides and B-sides of half a dozen 1964-1965 singles they did for Red Bird, rounded off with less essential odds and ends (including an alternate version of "People Say" and an a cappella alternate version of "Iko Iko"). The Dixie Cups are usually remembered only for "Chapel of Love" and perhaps "Iko Iko," but as this disc demonstrates, there were a good number of solid girl group sides on their other Red Bird recordings. Many of them were written by the estimable Brill Building hitmaking team of Jeff Barry and Ellie Greenwich, and some are quite good despite almost total obscurity (such as "Little Bell" and "Another Boy Like Mine"); a few other tracks have a strong New Orleans R&B influence. It's one of the better single-artist girl group anthologies, and makes one regret that such a likable, melodic act was unable to record longer for Red Bird, where the group teamed with such a suitable production and songwriting supporting cast. ~ Richie Unterberger

Country of Origin
VarŠse Sarabande (USA)
Universal Distribution
The Dixie-Cups
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Chapel of Love
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Gee the Moon Is Shining Bright
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] I'm Gonna Get You Yet
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Girls Can Tell
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] All Grown Up
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Iko Iko
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Gee Baby Gee
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Ain't That Nice
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] People Say
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Little Bell
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] No True Love
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] You Should Have Seen the Way He Looked at Me
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Another Boy Like Mine
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Thank You Mama, Thank You Papa
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Wrong Direction
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Gee the Moon Is Shining Bright - (mono, single version)
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] People Say - (alternate version)
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Iko Iko - (a capella alternate version)
  1. Dixie Cups
  2. The Dixie Cups
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 259

Shop by Department