Definitive Collection - (Import CD)

Flying Burrito Broth

R 159

eB1 590

Discovery Miles  1 590

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Country Rock
Mono / Stereo
Gram Parsons; Jim Dickson; Henry Lewy; Larry Marks; Jim Dickson; Henry Lewy; Larry Marks; Mike Ragogna (Compilation)
The Definitive Collection

The Flying Burrito Brothers: Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons (guitar); Michael Clarke, Sneaky Pete Kleinow, Bernie Leadon.
Personnel: Chris Hillman (vocals, mandolin); Gram Parsons (vocals, keyboards); Bernie Leadon (guitar, dobro); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (steel guitar); Byron Berline (fiddle); Leopold Carbajal (accordion); Buddy Childers (cornet, flugelhorn); Tommy Johnson (tuba); Chris Ethridge, Leon Russell (piano); Sam Goldstein, Popeye Phillips, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jon Corneal, Michael Clarke (drums); Frank Blanco (percussion).
Additional personnel: Tommy Johnson (tuba); Popeye Phillips (drums); Sam Goldstein, Fast Eddie Hoh, Jon Corneal, Leon Russell, Leopold Carbajal, Frank Blanco, Buddy Childers, Byron Berline.
Liner Note Author: Robyn Flans.
Photographers: Jim McCrary; Barry Feinstein.
The Flying Burrito Brothers created an undisputed masterpiece when they cut their first album, The Gilded Palace of Sin, in 1969, and while the group would continue to make records in one form or another for the next thirty years, as far as most fans were concerned, it was pretty much over when Gram Parsons -- the lead singer, principle songwriter and creative visionary behind the first album -- quit the band after completing their second LP, 1970s Burrito Deluxe. The Definitive Collection plays to the common consensus that the two albums with Parsons represented the band's best work by featuring both in their entirety, along with three bonus tracks -- the rare non-LP single "The Train Song," and covers of "Six Days on the Road" and "Close Up the Honky-Tonks." While by all logic this disc ought to live up to its title, in practice it falls a bit short of the mark. While The Gilded Palace of Sin is a uniformly superb album, Burrito Deluxe sounds a bit spotty in comparison, with a few tracks that are clearly filler (even Parsons admitted to journalists he was preoccupied with other things while it was being recorded); the superb compilation Farther Along: The Best of the Flying Burrito Brothers wisely cherry-picked the best songs from the second album and instead devoted the space to superior outtakes and rarities, and as a consequence it's a more consistent and satisfying listen. Despite this, The Definitive Collection does offer two albums anyone with a serious interest in the roots of country-rock needs to hear in one handsome package, remastered in their original mixes and featuring fine liner notes from Robyn Flans, and it's full of superb music from one of the guiding lights of the genre. If it doesn't quite qualify as definitive, it's close enough to merit a spot in most folks' music collection. (The same compilation was previously released by Universal under the title Sin City: The Very Best of the Flying Burrito Brothers, with similar front-cover artwork.) ~ Mark Deming

Country of Origin
Universal Distribution
The Flying Burrito Brothers
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Christine's Tune (aka Devil in the Disguise)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Sin City
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Do Right Woman
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Dark End of the Street
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] My Uncle
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Wheels
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Juanita
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Hot Burrito #1
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Hot Burrito #2
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Do You Know How It Feels?
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Hippie Boy
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Train Song, The
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Lazy Days
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Image of Me
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] High Fashion Queen
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] If You Gotta Go
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Man in the Fog
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Farther Along
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Older Guys
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Cody, Cody
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] God's Own Singer
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] Down in the Churchyard
  23. [ Disc 01 Track 23 ] Wild Horses
  24. [ Disc 01 Track 24 ] Six Days on the Road
  25. [ Disc 01 Track 25 ] Close Up the Honky-Tonks
  1. Flying Burrito Brothers
  2. Flying Burrito Broth
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 159

Shop by Department