Epiphany:Best of Chaka Khan Vol 1 - (Import CD)

Chaka Khan

Write a review

R 209

eB2 090

Discovery Miles  2 090

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Funk
Mono / Stereo
Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1 [2005]

Personnel includes: Chaka Khan, Me'Shell Ndegeocello (vocals); Grandmaster Melle Mel (rap vocals); Derrick Edmondson (saxophone).
Producers include: Russ Titelman, Arif Mardin, Keith Crouch.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
"Never Miss The Water," featuring Me'Shell NdegeOcello, was nominated for a 1997 Grammy Award for Best R&B Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal.
Personnel: Chaka Khan (vocals, background vocals); Me'Shell Ndeg‚ocello (vocals); Chieli Minucci, Allen Cato, Oliver Leiber, Paul Jackson, Jr. , Wah-Wah Watson (guitar); Larry E. Williams, Lawrence Feldman (flute); Derrick Edmondson (saxophone); Chris Botti (trumpet, flugelhorn); Jerry Hey (flugelhorn); Steve Baxter (trombone); Federico Gonzalez Pe¤a (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Raymond Chue (Fender Rhodes piano); Steve Skinner (keyboards, synthesizer); David Gamson (keyboards, drum programming); Luis Conte (percussion); Howard McCrary, Mark Stevens (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Michael O'Reilly; Bob Power.
Recording information: Right Track Recording, New York, NY; The New Hit Factory, New York, NY.
Arrangers: Dave Grusin; Keith Crouch; Reggie Griffin; Arif Mardin; Steve Skinner; Bruce Hornsby.
Chaka Khan's career through the 1996 release of Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1 -- involving eight albums with Rufus and eight solo albums, along with assorted collaborations -- produced roughly 40 Top 40 R&B singles, not to mention dozens of undervalued album cuts. So it is clear that any one-disc attempt at wrapping up the highlights is bound to work more like a sampler than a true best-of. And though this release is given the "Vol. 1" tag, it remained without a sequel as late as 2005, when Reprise reissued it without altering the contents. Yet another frustration is that previously unreleased songs take the place of missing classics like "Sweet Thing," "Clouds," "Fate," "Close the Door," and "Stay." (That's just for starters.) Nonetheless, the disc does contain Khan's most popular work, from ballads like "Through the Fire" to anthems like "I'm Every Woman" and "Ain't Nobody," along with other radio staples, such as "I Feel for You" and "Tell Me Something Good." At the absolute least, Khan deserves a solo-only best-of, as well as a disc that sticks strictly to her work with Rufus. (The Very Best of Rufus Featuring Chaka Khan, the only anthology dedicated to Rufus, has its own set of issues.) ~ Andy Kellman

Country of Origin
WEA (Distributor)
Chaka Khan
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Ain't Nobody
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Papillon (aka Hot Butterfly)
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Tell Me Something Good - (live)
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] I Feel for You
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I Know You, I Live You
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I'm Every Woman
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Love Me Still
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] End of a Love Affair, The
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] And the Melody Still Lingers On (Night in Tunisia)
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Through the Fire
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] What Cha' Gonna Do for Me
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Everywhere
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Never Miss the Water
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Somethin' Deep
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Your Love Is All I Know
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Every Little Thing
  1. Chaka Khan
Studio / Live

Spin (1/97, p.89) - "...the last Aretha, her huskiness a touchstone as black pop skips by the church..."
Entertainment Weekly (12/20/96, p.76) - "EPIPHANY should solidify Khan's standing as one of the very best soul singers of the '70s and '80s..."
- Rating: A-
Muzik (2/97, p.114) - 9 out of 10 - "...this greatest hits and more package should go straight to Number One....Who said perfection isn't perfect? Take note: acquire this immediately."

Video Disabled
David Gamson; Michael O'Reilly; Rail Rogut
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 209

Shop by Department