Erykah Badu - New Amerykah Part Two - Return Of The Ankh (CD)

Erykah Badu

R 93


Discovery Miles  930

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Contemporary R&B
Number of Items
New Amerykah, Pt. 2: Return of the Ankh
Country of Origin
Mono / Stereo

Rolling Stone (p.72) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "On the gorgeous 'Window Seat,' her supremely mellow voice is awash in jazzy Fender Rhodes keyboards and loping funk-soul grooves."
Entertainment Weekly (p.75) - "[S]he stays comparatively earthbound on this follow-up, singing mostly about relationships over warm grooves." -- Grade: A-
Mojo (Publisher) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Badu's woozy spell is never broken....It's the sound of an artist in full, uncensored flow."

  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] 20 Feet Tall
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Incense
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Out Of Mind, Just In Time
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Window Seat
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Agitation
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Turn Me Away (get Munny)
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Gone Baby, Don't Be Long
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Umm Hmm
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Love
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] You Loving Me (session)
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Fall In Love (your Funeral)
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] 20 Feet Tall
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Window Seat
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Agitation
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Turn Me Away (Get Munny)
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Gone Baby, Don't Be Long
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Umm Hmm
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Love
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] You Loving Me (Session)
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Fall in Love (Your Funeral)
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Incense
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Out My Mind, Just in Time
R&B / Soul
Release Date
29 March 2010
South Africa
Return of the Ankh was supposed to be issued earlier than March 2010. It's just as well: 2008's stupefying 4th World War provided such a dense concentration of charged lyrics over ceaselessly vein-melting production work that Erykah Badu could have been forgiven for letting five years pass prior to unveiling something else to soak up. Return of the Ankh is a relief in that Badu does not attempt to trump herself with a set that is even more intense and powerful than its predecessor. Thematically, it's aligned with 4th World War's relatively lighter songs, "Me" and "Honey," more personal than planetary, less challenging sonically and lyrically. Most of it was actually recorded at the same time as 4th World War. The list of collaborators, featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow, Madlib, Shafiq Husayn, Dilla, James Poyser, Ahmir Thompson, and Karriem Riggins, is similar, yet the makeup is drastically different, designed for instant kicked-back enjoyment. A pause, deep breath, and a "Here we go" is not required prior to putting it on. Instead, we get Badu playing around, in the best possible way, with sample-rooted songs like "Turn Me Away (Get Munny)" (a twist on Sylvia Striplin's "You Can't Turn Me Away" and the 1995 hip-hop anthem that sampled it, Junior M.A.F.I.A.'s "Get Money"), "Gone Baby, Don't Be Long" (a slightly silly new-love song that reworks Paul McCartney's "Arrow Through Me"), and "Umm Hmm" (its optimism reflected in that of its backbone, Ndugu & the Chocolate Jam Company's Earth, Wind & Fire-like "Take Some Time"). Though the album is so rich with sample-reliant songs that it sometimes resembles a glorified mixtape, a couple standouts were made from scratch. "Window Seat" should appeal to those who have wanted Badu to revisit that lissome sound of Baduizm songs like "On & On" and "Otherside of the Game," and it packs stunning stomp-and-clap breakdowns that sync up with Badu's most halting lines: "I need you to want me/I need you to miss me/I need your attention/I need you next to me." "Out My Mind, Just in Time" is a ten-minute finale that traces a trajectory of heartache across three movements, beginning innocently enough with a devotional (if pained and humorous) piano ballad that shifts into Muldrow's psychedelic, slow-motion soul-jazz as Badu gets increasingly fragmentary and tripped-out. By the end, she is renewed: "Finally I got a leading role/Introducing Super Dope/Starring in her episode/Hello new world/Out my mind." Actual next level, as always. ~ Andy Kellman
Date Released
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Video Disabled
Erykah Badu
  1. Badu, Erykah
50m 35s
Chris Bell
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 93

Shop by Department