Essential Artie Shaw - (Import CD)

Artie Shaw

Write a review

R 299

eB2 990

Discovery Miles  2 990

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Jazz Instrument
  3. Big Band
Mono / Stereo
Barry Feldman (Compilation); Barry Feldman (Reissue)
The Essential Artie Shaw

Personnel: Artie Shaw (clarinet); Artie Shaw; Tony Pastor (vocals, tenor saxophone); Tony Gottuso, Jimmy Shirley (guitar); Clark Dick, Jerry Jerome (tenor saxophone); Johnny Best (trumpet); Jack Jenney, Vernon Brown (trombone); Bob Kitsis (piano); George Wettling, Nick Fatool (drums); Hot Lips Page (vocals, trumpet); Helen Forrest, Lena Horne, Leo Watson, Billie Holiday (vocals); Al Hendrickson (guitar, electric guitar); Barney Kessel (guitar); Harry Bluestone (violin); Les Robinson (alto saxophone); Georgie Auld (tenor saxophone); Manny Klein, Henry "Red" Allen, Max Kaminsky, Roy Eldridge, Billy Butterfield (trumpet); George Arus, Ray Conniff (trombone); Johnny Guarnieri (piano, harpsichord); Dodo Marmarosa, Skitch Henderson, Les Burness (piano); Buddy Rich (drums).
Liner Note Author: Lloyd Rauch.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (12/23/1936-08/02/1953); Hollywood, CA (12/23/1936-08/02/1953); New York, NY (12/23/1936-08/02/1953).
Arrangers: Artie Shaw; Jerry Gray; Lennie Hayton; William Grant Still.
ESSENTIAL is an appropriate title for this double-disc collection of Artie Shaw's music. The temperamental, progressive bandleader and clarinetist was one of the top figures in swing, and his arrangements and recordings of classic songs (Cole Porter's "Begin the Beguine," for example) are definitive documents of the era. Shaw's own prowess as an instrumentalist, and his innovative techniques--his use of exotic melodies ("Frenesi") and orchestral strings ("Temptation"), for instance--further heighten his appeal. All of these qualities and more are represented on this comprehensive, superbly compiled set.

BMG (distributor)
Artie Shaw
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Begin the Beguine
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Special Delivery Stomp
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Non-Stop Flight
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Deep Purple
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Oh, Lady Be Good
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Scuttlebutt
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Shoot the Likker to Me, Johnny Boy
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] St. James Infirmary Blues, Pts. 1-2
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Georgia on My Mind
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] April in Paris - (from "Walk A Little Faster")
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Any Old Time
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] All the Things You Are
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Back Bay Shuffle
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] (When Your Heart's on Fire) Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Tabu
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Blues in the Night
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Concerto for Clarinet, Pts. 1-2
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Frenesi
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Summit Ridge Drive
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Take Your Shoes Off, Baby
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] It Had to Be You
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Don't Take Your Love from Me
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Indian Love Call
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Dancing in the Dark
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Deep in a Dream
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] I Can't Believe That You're in Love with Me
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] Star Dust
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Room with a View, A
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Temptation
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Streamline - (previously unreleased, take)
  32. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Traffic Jam
  33. [ Disc 02 Track 15 ] What Is This Thing Called Love?
  34. [ Disc 02 Track 16 ] Yesterdays
  35. [ Disc 02 Track 17 ] You're a Lucky Guy
  36. [ Disc 02 Track 18 ] Alone Together - (from the musical production "Flying Colors")
  37. [ Disc 02 Track 19 ] These Foolish Things
  38. [ Disc 02 Track 20 ] Nightmare
  1. Artie Shaw
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 299

Shop by Department