Essential Clash - (Import CD)


Write a review

R 279

eB2 790

Discovery Miles  2 790

Shipped in 12 to 14 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Hard Rock
Mono / Stereo
The Essential Clash

The Clash: Joe Strummer, Mick Jones (vocals, guitar); Paul Simonon (vocals, bass); Nicky "Topper" Headon, Tory Crimes, Pete Howard (drums).
Producers include: Mickey Foote, The Clash, Sandy Pearlman, Guy Stevens, Jose Unidos.
Compilation producer: Bruce Dickinson.
Recorded between 1977 & 1985.
Personnel: Mick Jones , Micky Jones, Joe Strummer (vocals, guitar); Nick Sheppard, Vince White (guitar); Nicky "Topper" Headon, Tory Crimes (drums).
Recording information: 1977-1985.
Photographers: Kate Simon ; Bob Gruen; Pennie Smith; Paul Slattery.
It's somehow fitting that the first Clash collection to be released in the wake of frontman Joe Strummer's December 2002 death should be the closest anyone's ever come to a truly definitive non-box-set anthology. The two discs essentially work chronologically, starting out with a dose of old-school UK punk from the days when the Clash were messengers of political fury and icon-shattering rock & roll fire (the raging "White Riot" and gloriously snotty "I'm So Bored with the U.S.A."). We can hear the incorporation of reggae rhythms with "White Man in Hammersmith Palais" and Junior Murvin's street-fighting tale "Police & Thieves," and the beginnings of the Clash's infatuation with American music on the Bobby Fuller cover "I Fought the Law."
Disc two finds the band truly at the peak of its powers, featuring tracks from LONDON CALLING and SANDINISTA, where both the lyricism and the stylistic palette were brought to a new level (the punk-rap of "The Magnificent Seven," the Caribbean lilt of "Rudie Can't Fail"). It's to this compilation's strong credit that it not only includes a healthy portion from the most "difficult" Clash album (SANDINISTA), but some vital tracks from the odd-ends collection BLACK MARKET CLASH (the dubbed-out Robin Hood tale "Bankrobber," the snarling "Capital Radio One"), making THE ESSENTIAL CLASH much more than a greatest-hits collection.

Country of Origin
Sony Music Distribution (USA)
Sony Music Distribution (
The Clash
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] White Riot
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] London's Burning
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Complete Control
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Clash City Rockers - (original version)
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I'm So Bored with the U.S.A.
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Career Opportunities
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Hate & War
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Cheat
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Police & Thieves
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Janie Jones
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Garageland
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Capital Radio One
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] (White Man) In Hammersmith Palais
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] English Civil War
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Tommy Gun
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Safe European Home
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Julie's Been Working for the Drug Squad
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Stay Free
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Groovy Times
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] I Fought the Law
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] London Calling
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Guns of Brixton, The
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Clampdown
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Rudie Can't Fail
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Lost in the Supermarket
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Jimmy Jazz
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Train in Vain (Stand by Me)
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Bankrobber
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Magnificent Seven, The
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] Ivan Meets G.I. Joe
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Police on My Back
  32. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Stop the World
  33. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Somebody Got Murdered
  34. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Street Parade, The
  35. [ Disc 02 Track 15 ] This Is Radio Clash
  36. [ Disc 02 Track 16 ] Ghetto Defendant
  37. [ Disc 02 Track 17 ] Rock the Casbah
  38. [ Disc 02 Track 18 ] Straight to Hell
  39. [ Disc 02 Track 19 ] Should I Stay or Should I Go
  40. [ Disc 02 Track 20 ] This Is England
  1. Clash
  2. The Clash
Studio / Live

Spin (6/03, p.104) - "...These two discs are a pretty hot crib sheet....The first 11 cuts are a shuffle mix of highlights from the U.S. and U.K. versions of 1977's incendiary THE CLASH, and if they don't inspire you to punch holes in the plaster, you're too well-adjusted..."
Uncut (5/03, p.114) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...They never lost sight of Britain's strange mix of supermarket torpor and multicultural high energy..."

Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 279

Shop by Department