Fathers and Sons - (Import CD)

Muddy Waters

R 179

eB1 790

Discovery Miles  1 790

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Blues
  3. Chicago Blues
Mono / Stereo
Fathers and Sons [Remaster]

Personnel: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); Mike Bloomfield, Paul Asbell (guitar); Paul Butterfield, Jeff Carp (harmonica); Otis Spann (piano); Donald "Duck" Dunn, Phil Upchurch (bass); Buddy Miles, Sam Lay (drums).
Producer: Norman Drayton.
Reissue producer: Andy McKaie.
Recorded in Chicago, Illinois on April 21-23, 1969 and live at the Super Cosmic Joy-Scout Jamboree, Chicago, Illinois on April 24, 1969. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (universal Mastering-West, Hollywood, California)..
The resurgence of Chicago-based blues in the mid- to late 1960s came with an entirely new breed of icons to bear the torch. Among them were the decidedly electric Paul Butterfield Blues Band. Joining Muddy Waters (guitar/vocals) and Otis Spann (piano) on the aptly titled Fathers and Sons are three Butterfield Blues Band alumni: Michael Bloomfield (guitar), Sam Lay (drums), and leader Paul Butterfield (guitar). Further augmenting the personnel is Booker T. and the MG's Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass) and Buddy Miles (drums) -- who cameos during the live "Got My Mojo Workin'" finale. This all-star cast helps reclaim some of Waters' fire, which had been summarily doused on his previous outing Electric Mud -- a tasteless pseudo-psychedelic disaster. The poorly executed scheme had been designed to introduce Waters' music to a younger and mostly white audience. In essence, Fathers and Sons is able to accomplish with musical integrity what Electric Mud couldn't through gimmickry. Additionally, the incorporation of the younger generation blues men solidified Waters stature as one of the pre-eminent forces in Chicago Blues to a decidedly fresh and underdeveloped audience. The disc is split between studio sides cut on April 21-23 and a half-hour live set. This performance, during the Super Cosmic Joy-Scout Jamboree, was documented on the evening following the final day of studio recording. The event was held at Auditorium Theater in (where else?) Chicago. Simplifying the process is Fathers and Sons set list, which consists of exclusively vintage Waters material. "Mean Disposition" and "Standin' Round Cryin'" drip with Bloomfield and Butterfield's nasty languid electric funk and feature Waters' determined and energized vocals. On the up-tempo blues/rockers "Walking Thru the Park" and "Sugar Sweet" the nimble and lyrical guitar passages meld the distance between Waters and the electric blues of Cream and Led Zeppelin. The 2001 remastered CD edition includes four additional studio sides issued here for the first time: "Country Boy," "I Love The Life I Live (I Live The Life I Love)," "Oh Yeah," and "I Feel So Good." Without question, the highlight of Fathers and Sons is the live performances which are incessantly fuelled by the explosive nature of the musicians on stage as well as the audience. "Long Distance Call" and the two-part "Got My Mojo Working" are the finest pieces on the album. They likewise rate among the most complimentary marriages of Chicago R&B with rock & roll. Of Muddy Waters' later recordings, it certainly got no better than the summit meeting heard on Fathers and Sons. Fans of Waters' true and natural showmanship, as well as enthusiasts of blues-based rock & roll will find plenty to revisit. ~ Lindsay Planer

Country of Origin
Chess (USA)
Universal Distribution
Muddy Waters
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] All Aboard
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Mean Disposition
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Blow Wind Blow
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Walkin' Through the Park
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Forty Days and Forty Nights
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Standin' Round Cryin'
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] I'm Ready
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Twenty Four Hours
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Sugar Sweet
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Country Boy - (previously unreleased)
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] I Love the Life I Live, I Live the Life I Love - (previously unreleased)
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Oh Yeah - (previously unreleased)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] I Feel So Good - (previously unreleased)
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Long Distance Call
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Baby Please Don't Go
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Honey Bee
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Same Thing, The
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Got My Mojo Working (Part 1)
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Got My Mojo Working (Part 2)
  1. Muddy Waters
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Ron Malo; Reice Hamel
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 179

Shop by Department