From South Africa to South Carolina - (Import CD)

Gil Scott-Heron

Write a review

R 145

eB1 450

Discovery Miles  1 450

Shipped in 7 to 10 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Sold by Upbeat - Fulfilled by Takealot

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Jazz Instrument
  3. Fusion
Number of Items
Media Type
From South Africa to South Carolina - (Import CD)
Country of Origin
Mono / Stereo
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] A Toast To The People
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Audio clip
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Audio clip
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Audio clip
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] The Summer Of -42
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Beginnings (First Minute Of A New Day)
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] South Carolina (Barnwell)--
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Essex -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Fell Together
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] A Lovely Day--
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] A Lovely Day
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Audio clip
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Johannesburg
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Toast To The People, A
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Summer Of '42, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Beginnings (First Minute Of A New Day)
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] South Carolina (Barnwell)
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Essex
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Fell Together
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] A Lovely Day
Release Date
1 February 2011

Personnel: Gil Scott-Heron (vocals, electric piano); Brian Jackson (vocals, flute, keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Victor Brown (vocals, tambourine, bells); Bilal Sunni Ali (saxophone, flute, harmonica); Danny Bowens (bass); Bob Adams (drums); Charlie Saunders (congas, Chinese drum); Barnett Williams (congas, gambe drums, shakerai); Adenola (congas); Ray Baretto, Peter Wolf, Duke Bootee, Big Youth, Grandmaster Melle Mel, Peter Garrett, Malopoets, Sonny Okosuns, Miles Davis.
Producers include: Gil Scott-Heron, Brian Jackson, The Midnight Band, Little Steven, Arthur Baker.
Engineers include: Jose Williams, Malcolm Cecil.
Principally recorded at D&B Sound, Silver Springs, Maryland in 1975; live at the Wax Museum, Washington DC; live at Madison Square Garden, New York, New York in 1979; live at Blues Alley, Washington DC in 1981. Includes liner notes by Gil Scott-Heron.
Digitally remastered by Malcolm Cecil.
The collaboration between Gil Scott-Heron and Brian Jackson was now a formal one, as they were issuing albums as a team. This was their second duo project to make the pop charts, and it included anti-nuclear and anti-apartheid themes, plus less political, more autobiographical/reflective material like "Summer of '42," "Beginnings (The First Minute of a New Day)," and "Fell Together." Scott-Heron was now a campus and movement hero, and Jackson's production and arranging savvy helped make his albums as arresting musically as they were lyrically. ~ Ron Wynn

Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Gil Scott-Heron/Brian Jackson
  1. Scott-Heron, Gil / Brian Jackson
Date Released
01 February 2011
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 145

Shop by Department