Garbarek / Hillard Ensem - Officium (CD)

Jan Garbarek

Write a review

R 315

eB3 150

Discovery Miles  3 150

Shipped in 7 to 10 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Sold by Upbeat - Fulfilled by Takealot

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Jazz General
Number of Discs
Number of Items
Country of Origin
Mono / Stereo
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Parce Mihi Domine
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Officium Defunctorum, for 4 voices: Parce mihi domine - (Latin)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Primo tempore - (Latin)
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Sanctus - (Latin)
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Regnantem sempiterna - (Latin)
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] O Salutaris Hostia - (Latin)
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Procedentem sponsum - (Latin)
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Pulcherrima rosa - (Latin)
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Officium Defunctorum, for 4 voices: Parce mihi domine - (Latin)
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Beata viscera, conductus for solo voice - (Latin)
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] De Spineto Nata Rosa - (Latin)
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Credo - (Latin)
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Ave maris stella, hymn for 3 voices (2 versions) - (Latin)
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Virgo flagellatur - (Latin)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Oratio Ieremiae - (Latin)
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Officium Defunctorum, for 4 voices: Parce mihi domine - (Latin)
77m 34s
South Africa

The Hilliard Ensemble, known for its serious yet musical approach to plainchant, organum, early polyphony and even contemporary music, breaks new ground here. Added to the normal four male voices is soprano saxophonist Jan Garbarek. What could a saxophonist possibly have to do with vocal music composed before 1650? Not much perhaps, but this combination creates some wonderful and rare colors. Inside the monastery of St. Gerold, these five musicians were not too concerned about the "type" of music they were making; instead they just made music.
Jan Garbarek's sax improvisations arch over the vocal foundation, and the monastery itself is the sixth musician. The natural echoes and fades create seamlessness and add a layer of religious mist to this already spiritual music.
A 20th century instrument, four voices and music composed almost 500 years before their births conjoin to create a timeless sound. If ever there were spacious music, this is it. Garbarek sometimes spins a Kenny G-like melody way above the singers and other times blends almost imperceptibly. Perhaps the music is at its best during the latter case, but throughout this disc, the musicians are fully committed to their craft.

Universal Distribution
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Video Disabled
Jan Garbarek/The Hilliard Ensemble
  1. Garbarek, Jan / Hillard Ensemble
Date Released
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 315

Shop by Department