Gold:80's - (Import CD)


R 409

eB4 090

Discovery Miles  4 090

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Collection
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. New Wave
Mono / Stereo
Chris Hughes; James Anthony Carmichael; Clive Langer; Daryl Hall; David Steele; Deodato; Frank Sullivan; Chris E. Thomas; Gene Griffin; George Tobin; Giorgio Moroder; Harold Faltermeyer; Tom Scholtz; Jim Peterik; Jimmy Jam; John Oates; Keith Forsey; Keith Olsen; Alan Tarney; Alan Winstanley; Lewis A. Martinee; Lionel Richie; Michael Omartian; Michael Sembello; Neil Kernon; Nile Rodgers; Oliver Leiber; Andy Cox; Rick Nowels; Robert John Lange; Roland Gift; Ron Nevison; Russ Titelman; Seth Justman; Steve Winwood; Stewart Levine; Terry Britten; Val Garay; Bernard Edwards; Terry Lewis; Dana G. Smart (Compilation); Pat Lawrence (Compilation)
80's Gold

Liner Note Author: Sara Cody.
Photographers: Andrea Laubach; Douglas Kirkland; Todd Gray; Lewis Ziolek; Barry Schultz; Youri Lenquette; Ross Marino; John Bellissimo; Walter "Lil' Walt" McBride; Michael Putland; Kees Tabak; Chris Walter; Glenn A. Baker; Terry Donovan; Aaron Rapoport; Paul Rider; Paul Slattery.
Arrangers: Gene Page; Lewis A. Martine‚; Nile Rodgers; Bernard Edwards.
Beneath the flourish, extravagance, and pretension that saturated the pop charts during the '80s lay a culture rich in innovation that brought about the rise of truly groundbreaking music and an indomitable spirit of independence, not to mention nationwide networks that fostered originality and valued substance over style. That side of things is nowhere documented in '80s Gold. However, there was such an overabundance of highly polished, catchy tunes in such a wide variety of genres that it's nearly impossible to document it all (though there have been more than enough earnest attempts) without leaving a sense of exhaustion. This two-disc, 33-song collection represents some of the best of the best of the decade, as every single song on here was a number one Billboard Hot 100 chart hit at one point or another. And to its credit, Universal presents a wide scope of sounds and styles here. Case in point: where else can one find Blondie sitting right next to Christopher Cross' smooth "Sailing" anthem next to Diana Ross next to Rick Springfield and have it all make sense? There is literally something for everyone here, from new wave to new jack, and while it's easy to point out all of the obvious omissions, the quality control is so high that it's quite easy to forget about what's missing and simply enjoy what's here. Most fans of '80s music will already have most of these tunes on other compilations, but those looking for an awesome starting reference point will find that '80s Gold is an excellent edition to any pop collection. ~ Rob Theakston

Country of Origin
Studio / Live
Various Artists
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Call Me - Blondie
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Sailing - Christopher Cross
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Upside Down - Diana Ross
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Celebration - Kool & the Gang
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Bette Davis Eyes - Kim Carnes
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Jessie's Girl - Rick Springfield
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Endless Love - Lionel Richie/Diana Ross
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Waiting for a Girl Like You - Foreigner
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Centerfold - J. Geils Band
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Eye of the Tiger - Survivor
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Up Where We Belong - Jennifer Warnes/Joe Cocker
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Maneater - Hall & Oates
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Come on Eileen - Dexys Midnight Runners
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Maniac - Michael Sembello
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] All Night Long (All Night) - Lionel Richie
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] What's Love Got to Do with It - Tina Turner
  17. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Don't You (Forget About Me) - Simple Minds
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Everybody Wants to Rule the World - Tears for Fears
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Axel F. - Harold Faltermeyer
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Take on Me - a-ha
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Addicted to Love - Robert Palmer
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Holding Back the Years - Simply Red
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Higher Love - Steve Winwood
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Human - The Human League
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Amanda - Boston
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] Alone - Heart
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Heaven Is a Place on Earth - Belinda Carlisle
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Need You Tonight - INXS
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Seasons Change - Expos‚
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Could've Been - Tiffany
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 15 ] My Prerogative - Bobby Brown
  32. [ Disc 02 Track 16 ] Forever Your Girl - Paula Abdul
  33. [ Disc 02 Track 17 ] Good Thing - Fine Young Cannibals
  2. Various Artists
Universal Distribution
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 409

Shop by Department