Gossip - Music For Men (Repackage) (CD + DVD)

Write a review

R 225

List Price R 241


eB2 250

Discovery Miles  2 250

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
Number of Items
Music for Men [Bonus DVD] [Bonus Tracks]
Country of Origin

Rolling Stone (p.67) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[H]ere, with help from Rick Rubin, they remake themselves as a badass dance machine."
Spin (p.82) - "12 Rick Rubin-produced tracks spanning minimalist disco, post-punk, and garage....A tightly wound disco-punk conjugation."
Billboard (p.32) - "The dark single 'Heavy Cross' features ragged guitars accompanied by Ditto's sharp velvety voice..."
Q (Magazine) (p.130) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Ditto's one-of-a-kind voice still bestrides everything, sometimes strangled and punky, sometimes gutsy and soulful, sometimes oddly sweet."
Uncut (magazine) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] tour de force....Brace Paine's guitar sounds like it could saw through marble....Ditto has one of the best soul-punk set of pipes on the planet, she really goes to town here..."

  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Dimestore Diamond
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Heavy Cross
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] 8th Wonder
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Love Long Distance
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Pop Goes The World
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Vertical Rhythm
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Men In Love
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] For Keeps
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] 2010
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Love And Let Love
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Four Letter Word
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Spare Me From The Mold
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] The Breakdown
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Heavy Cross
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Pop Goes The World
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Listen Up
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] 2012
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Love Long Distance
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Men In Love
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Standing In The Way Of Control
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Heavy Cross - Video
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Love Long Distance - Video
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Pop Goes The World - Video
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Four Letter Word - Video
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Heavy Cross - Live
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Love Long Distance - Live
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Pop Goes The World - Live
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Men In Love - Live
Pop / Rock
The Gossip close MUSIC FOR MEN with a song called "Spare Me from the Mold," but Beth Ditto, Nathan Paine, and Hannah Billie could never be accused of conforming. They were still a relatively underground group when STANDING IN THE WAY OF CONTROL's passionate mix of punk, soul, and disco became their breakthrough - and they sounded so confident on it, it felt like the mainstream was coming to them rather than vice versa. They've got their own piece of the pop (and pop culture) mainstream now, and MUSIC FOR MEN feels aboveground in the best possible way. Befitting its major-label debut, this is the band's most polished music yet, a balance of CONTROL's ferocity and the sleek remixes of the album's singles, but it's still not slick. Most of MUSIC FOR MEN finds the Gossip sticking to their roots and using their success to get their messages out to as many people as possible. These songs are just as empowering as their earlier work, though they're more subtly defiant. "Dimestore Diamond" opens the album with a tough-strutting anthem about a woman who's faking it till she makes it, and it's clear how much the band identifies with her, even though Ditto became an avant-garde fashion plate in the wake of CONTROL's success. "Men in Love" sets lyrics like "we're guilty of love in the first degree" to a liberated beat and jagged guitars, and "Love and Let Love"'s chilly disco acts as armor for Ditto's heartbreak. While the Gossip still play like a band, the production often favors Ditto's voice - not that this is a bad thing: she brings soulful fury to "8th Wonder" and much more tartness to the excellent "Love Long Distance" than a more conventional diva might (the clever chorus "I heard it through the bassline/Not much longer would you be my baby" doesn't hurt, either). However, the band still tears into "Heavy Cross" - which sounds a lot like a slightly glossier STANDING IN THE WAY OF CONTROL track - like the old days. This urgency drives all of these songs, whether it's the bright '80s pop of "For Keeps" or "2012"'s unlikely but captivating mix of Pat Benatar-channeling vocals and end-of-the-world drama. While it isn't quite as honed as STANDING IN THE WAY OF CONTROL, on MUSIC FOR MEN the Gossip sound perfectly at home in their new digs, while remaining true to their essence.
Date Released
2010-10-01 00:00:00
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
The Gossip
  1. The Gossip
Sony BMG
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 225

Shop by Department