Holiday Songs & Lullabies - (Import CD)

Shawn Colvin

R 44


Discovery Miles  440

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Folk
  3. Christmas
Mono / Stereo
Doug Petty
Holiday Songs and Lullabies

Personnel: Shawn Colvin (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dan Petty (guitar, lap steel guitar); Steuart Smith (guitar); Larry Campbell (pedal steel guitar, mandolin, violin); Sandra Park, Sharon Yamada (violin); Rebecca Young (viola); Alan Stepansky (cello); Dan Willis (oboe); Kenny Rampton (flugelhorn); John Clark (French horn); Jim Pugh (trombone); David Taylor (bass trombone); Clark Gayton (euphonium); Doug Petty (piano, organ); Ben Street (acoustic & electric basses); Mark Egan, Andy Hess (bass); Shawn Pelton (drums); Marlon Saunders, Jill Seifers, Paul Frazier (background vocals).
Engineers: Steve Addabbo, Ray Martin, Aaron Keane.
Recorded at Shelter Island Sound, New York, New York.
Becoming a mother probably had something to do with singer-songwriter Colvin's desire to record this album of Christmas tunes (she was pregnant during the sessions). Or maybe it was just career savvy; whatever the reason, Colvin temporarily abandons her unique style of folk-rock to take up the Christmas cause. It's to her credit that she generally avoids over-recorded Christmas standards in favor of more obscure (and more substantive) holiday material. Some of the tunes are arranged for orchestra, while others feature more scaled-down instrumentation, but HOLIDAY SONGS sounds and feels more like the work of a skilled vocalist exploring something different than a rocker out to make a few quick Christmas bucks. The sensuality and elasticity of her voice lends itself well to the more spiritual concerns she tackles here.

Country of Origin
Columbia (USA)
Sony Music Distribution (
Shawn Colvin
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] In the Bleak Mid-Winter
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Christmas Time Is Here
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Now the Day Is Over
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Rocking
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Windy Nights
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] All Through the Night
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Love Came Down at Christmas
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Silent Night
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] All the Pretty Li'l Horses
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Little Road to Bethlehem
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Seal Lullaby
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Evening Is A Little Boy / The Night Will Never Stay
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Christ Child's Lullaby, The
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Close Your Eyes
  1. Shawn Colvin
Studio / Live
Entertainment Weekly (12/4/98, pp.101-104) - "...A babe in these woods couldn't ask for a better birthday present than an album that offers props to both Maurice Sendak and Vince Guaraldi..." - Rating: A-
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 44

Shop by Department