Hoopla - (Import CD)


R 309

eB3 090

Discovery Miles  3 090

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. R&B
  3. Rap
Mono / Stereo

Personnel includes: Speech (vocals, Wurlitzer & Fender Rhodes pianos, programming, samples); Eddie Stokes (vocals, Fender Rhodes piano); Tommy Jenkins, Nadirah Shakoor, India, Mental Menace, Shakira Sincere, KEV (vocals); Mike Mullis (acoustic guitar); Rick Ward, Fletcher Dozier JR. (guitar); Felix Farrar, Kerren Berz (violin); Larry Flannagan (viola); Spencer Brewer (cello); Bill Cox (harmonica); Roderick Smith, Carl Boyd (saxophone); Kelly Fanning, Eddie Davis (trumpet); Andrew Lane (Wulitzer piano); The Propher (Hammond B-3 organ); Ike "Za" Williams, Neal Wyms (bass); Brian, Rick Morris, Enrique Coley (drums); Nakayo (percussion); Deanna Dawn, Nicha "Wildflower" Thompson, Franqui Hilliard, Kantor Deborah Wright (background vocals).
Engineers include: Speech, Colin Miller, Blake Eiseman.
Recorded at The Podium, Fayetteville, Georgia. Includes liner notes by Speech.
Three years in the making, Speech's second album finds the former Arrested Development frontman still working through his roots-centric vision of hip-hop. More Stevie Wonder than Silkk the Shocker, Hoopla incorporates much laid-back session material and even a few live-and-on-stage jam sessions, right in line with hip-hop's growing affection for building songs from the groove up with live musicians. Thankfully, his relaxed rapping style shows little influence from any recent developments in the rap world, and it's always right in line with the material he's performing. It could have been a remarkable comeback record, but Hoopla suffers from several bizarre miscues. Speech remakes the consistently annoying 4 Non Blondes hit "What's Up" for his own track, titled "The Hey Song." To give him credit, Speech rebuilds the song with a female R&B chorus instead of just sampling the original, but that hardly makes it any less grating. The deep grooves and Speech's considerable production skills make for several intriguing tracks ("Movin' On," "Clocks in Sync with Mine," "Our Image"), but Hoopla isn't exactly worthy of celebration. ~ Keith Farley

Country of Origin
TVT Records (Dist.)
TVT Records (Dist.)
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Do You Know How to Get to Highway 85
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Clocks in Sync With Mine
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Hey Song, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] I Think Yin Is Having a Baby, But I Don't Know
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Our Image - (featuring Tomi Jenkins)
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Movin' On
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Which Radio Station Has the Guts
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Moutain of Lonely, The
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Are You Still With Me
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Slave of It All
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Leave a Message...Bye Bye
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Sumtimes I Do
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Yeah Yeah
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Real Love
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Shut Down Our Mind Machine
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] List Goes On, The
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Redemption Song
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] If Life Is a River
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Hey Song, The - (remix)
  1. Speech
Studio / Live

Rolling Stone (8/19/99, p.118) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...a smart LP that resonates with his beat-conscious lyrics and warm delivery....Speech has a good shot at finally trading his place in the history of alternative rap for a lively career."
Spin (8/99, p.154) - 7 (out of 10) - "...Speech's strategy is to keep the beats simple and sing as sweet as he can....The overall effect is pleasant..."
Rap Pages (9/99, p.175) - "...[Speech] meshes reggae, R&B, Hip-Hop and other rhythms like a good painter vividly mixes color..." - Rating: Ci

Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 309

Shop by Department