James Galway - Highlights From The Sixty Flute Masterpieces (CD)

James and Va Galway

R 109

eB1 090

Discovery Miles  1 090

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. International
  3. Celtic
Number of Items
60 Years, 60 Flute Masterpieces: Highlights from the Collection
Country of Origin
BMG (distributor)
Mono / Stereo
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Suite For Orchestra No 2 In B Minor, Bwv 1067: Minuet
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Menuet
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Badinerie
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in E major ("La Primavera," The Four Seasons; "Il cimento" No. 1), Op.8/1, RV 269: Allegro
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Sonata for flute in A minor, H. 562, Wq. 132: Allegro
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Concerto No. 2 in D minor for flute & orchestra, Op. 31: Polacca
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Concerto for flute, harp & orchestra in C major, K. 299 (K. 297c): Andantino
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Quartet for flute, violin, viola & cello No. 4 in A major, K. 298: Rondeau: Allegretto grazioso
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Grand Duo Concertante, for flute (or violin) & guitar in A major, Op. 85: Scherzo
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Carnival of Venice for flute & orchestra Op. 77
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Sonata for flute & piano in A major (arr. from "Sonata for violin & piano"): Allegretto poco mosso
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Fl–te de Pan, for flute & piano, Op. 15: Pan et les bergers, La
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Syrinx, for solo flute, L. 129
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Flute Concerto (authorized transcription by J.P. Rampal of the Violin Concerto): Allegro vivace
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Fantas¡a para un gentilhombre, for guitar & orchestra: Canario
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Shanties (3), for wind quintet, Op. 4: Allegro vivace
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Concerto for flute & orchestra, Op. 39: Presto
Release Date
31 May 2000

This CD contains both ADD and DDD recordings.
Prior to launching an international solo career, Belfast-born James Galway was the principal flutist for Herbert Von Karajan's Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Karajan was lucky to have such a stellar performer in the orchestra's first flute chair, while Galway sharpened his craft under the demanding maestro's baton. After leaving the orchestra in 1975, Galway has enjoyed a glorious solo career that's been well documented by a series of best-selling recordings on the RCA Victor label. This recording highlights the best of his RCA solo recordings.
Galway is a master of any style and this recording presents repertoire spanning nearly three centuries; from the Baroque exuberance of Vivaldi and Bach to the harmonic daring of Debussy and glossy splendor of Khachaturian. Most appealing are Galway's chamber music performances, collaborating with such luminary artists as Martha Argerich, Marisa Robles and the Tokyo String Quartet.

Date Released
1999-01-01 00:00:00
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Video Disabled
James Galway (Flute)
  1. Galway, James
71m 10s
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 109

Shop by Department