Live on Maxwell Street 1964 - (Import CD)

Robert Nighthawk

R 315

eB3 150

Discovery Miles  3 150

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Blues
  3. Chicago Blues
Mono / Stereo
Norman Dayron
Live on Maxwell Street

The last track is an extended version of the interview that appeared on the original LP.
Robert Nighthawk and his Flames of Rhythm: Robert Nighthawk (vocals, slide guitar); Johnny Young (vocals, guitar); Carey Bell (vocals, harmonica); Robert Whiteshead (drums).
Recorded live on the corner of 14th & Peoria, Chicago, Illinois in September 1964. Originally released on Rounder (2022). Includes liner notes by Peter Guralnick.
Digitally remastered by Don Ososke & Norman Dayron.
Blues archivist Norman Dayron recorded this set by Robert Nighthawk and his small ensemble in 1964. Three years later, Nighthawk died from heart failure, leaving these recordings to sit unreleased until 1980. This album was recorded live on a street corner in Chicago, and Nighthawk's playing and singing are still in peak form. This is made all the more riveting because of the energy of the crowd, which becomes more and more excited as the set moves along.
Nighthawk is joined by rhythm guitarist Johnny Young and drummer Robert Whitehead throughout, and harmonica player Carey Bell on a few selections. LIVE ON MAXWELL STREET is a no-frills, no-nonsense, honest, and committed performance. This and BRICKS ON MY PILLOW, which captures some of Nighthawk's late-'40s and early-'50s studio recordings, are stunning introductions to this vital bluesman.

Country of Origin
Rounder Select
Studio / Live
Robert Nighthawk
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Cheating and Lying Blues
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Juke Medley
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Time Have Come, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Honey Hush
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] I Need Love So Bad
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Take It Easy Baby
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Annie Lee/Sweet Black Angel: Annie Lee / Sweet Black Angel
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Big World Blues
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Maxwell Street Jam
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] I Got News For You
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] All I Want For Breakfast/Them Kind of People
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Mama Talk To Your Daughter
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Real McCoy, The
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Interview
  1. Robert Nighthawk
CMJ (9/18/00, p.24) - "...A raucous testament to the real deal blues..."
69m 3s
Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 315

Shop by Department