Michael Murphey Martin - Ultimate Collection (CD)

Michael Mar Murphey

R 179

eB1 790

Discovery Miles  1 790

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Country Rock
Number of Discs
Number of Items
Ultimate Collection
Country of Origin
Universal Distribution
Mono / Stereo
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] I Feel Good (I Feel Bad)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Geronimo's Cadillac
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Natchez Trail
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Calico Silver
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Harbor for My Soul
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Boy from the Country
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] What Am I Doing Hangin' Around?
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Backsliders Wine
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Drunken Lady of the Morning
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Cosmic Cowboy, Pt. 1
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Wildfire
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Carolina in the Pines
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Cherokee Fiddle
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Swans Against the Sun
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Renegade
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] What's Forever For?
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Still Taking Chances
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Will It Be Love by Morning?
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Long Line of Love, A
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] From the Word Go
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] I'm Gonna Miss You, Girl
South Africa

Producers include: Jack Keller, Bob Johnston, Jim Ed Norman, Steve Gibson.
Compilation producer: Mike Ragogna.
Recorded between 1967 and 1987. Includes liner notes by Robyn Flans.
Digitally remastered by Doug Schwartz (Audio Mechanics, Hollywood, California).
Liner Note Author: Robyn Flans.
Michael Martin Murphey presents great challenges to anyone trying to construct a one-disc compilation of his work. For one thing, he has recorded for several record companies, all of which have catalogs now controlled by different major labels: A&M (Universal) 1972-1973; Epic (Sony), 1973-1981; Liberty (EMI), 1982-1983; and Warner Bros. (Warner) (1986-1997). (He has recorded independently since 1998.) For another, he has had at least three different careers, one in the 1970s as a pop singer/songwriter, another in the 1980s as a country singer, and a third as a Western artist. The least likely label to assemble a compilation would seem to be Universal, which possesses only two of his albums. But Hip-O, Universal's reissue arm, is nothing if not ambitious, and so we have this Ultimate Collection. You've got to admit that they've made an effort. No less than 12 of the 79-minute disc's 21 tracks have been licensed from other labels, including the major pop hit "Wildfire" and the number one country hits "What's Forever For?" and "A Long Line of Love." They've even dug up "I Feel Good (I Feel Bad)," the 1967 chart single by Murphey's early group, the Lewis & Clark Expedition. That said, the disc will not entirely satisfy any of Murphey's constituencies. Necessarily, there is a focus on his early solo work, with seven tracks drawn from A&M's Geronimo's Cadillac, while the rest of his career is presented very selectively. Only five tracks cover the Epic years, Murphey's peak as a singer/songwriter, and his period as a mouthpiece for Nashville songwriters is represented by only his biggest country hits. But as of the appearance of this set, neither Epic nor Warner Bros. had bothered to issue a Murphey best-of, which makes this miscast but well-intended effort by far the best Murphey collection ever released. ~ William Ruhlmann

Date Released
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Michael Martin Murphey
  1. Murphey, Michael Martin
79m 18s
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 179

Shop by Department