Notre Dame De Paris - (Import CD)


R 96


Discovery Miles  960

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Collection
  2. Pop Vocal
  3. Show Vocals
Mono / Stereo
Ric Wake; David Foster
Notre Dame of Paris

Music composed by Richard Cocciante. Lyics written by Luc Plamondon. English lyrics by Will Jennings.
Principal casst: Celine Dion, Bruno Pelletier, Lick Mervil, Daniel Lavoie, Steve Balsamo, Tina Arena, Garou, Natasha St.-Pierre.
Recorded at Studio Artistic Palace, Boulogne, France.
Composer Richard Cocciante and lyricist Luc Plamondon's musical Notre-Dame de Paris, based on the 1831 Victor Hugo novel (usually translated into English as The Hunchback of Notre-Dame), was an enormous French hit, both onstage in Paris and in record stores, where the cast album topped the charts. American lyricist Will Jennings was brought in to create an English-language version, and this is the result. The original backing tracks have been retained, as has much of the French cast -- Garou as Quasimodo, Daniel Lavoie as Frollo, Luck Mervil as Clopin, and Bruno Pelletier as Gringoire -- though Australian pop star Tina Arena has been brought in as Esmeralda, Steve Balsamo sings the role of Phoebus, and Natasha St-Pierre is Fleur-de-Lys. The album begins with a pop recording of Esmeralda's final ballad, "Live for the One I Love," rendered by "guest star" Celine Dion.
Hugo is a popular author for French musical theater writers, also having written Les Mis‚rables, which was successfully adapted into a musical by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Sch”nberg. And Notre-Dame de Paris, though an early work (he published it before he was 30), has had a long life, having been adapted into several films, including a Disney-produced animated musical version in 1996. Set in the 15th century, it tells the tragic tale of the love several men feel for a gypsy (Esmeralda), a captain (Phoebus), the hunchbacked bell ringer of the Notre-Dame Cathedral (Quasimodo), and the cathedral's priest (Frollo). There is a temptation when adapting it to emphasize its "beauty and the beast" aspect by focusing on Esmeralda and Quasimodo. This allows for cutting and simplification, but also tends to give the story more of a gothic-horror element than the author originally intended. But Cocciante and Plamondon restore the complicated romantic quartet, which means that many of the songs find these characters agonizing over their thwarted love.
On a single disc, with a running time of just over an hour (as opposed to the two-disc original cast version), this recording of Notre-Dame de Paris makes it sound like a ballad-heavy show. Song after song is taken at a slow pace, with brief melodic motifs repeated over and over. The French cast members adapt to the change in language without much trouble, perhaps in part because Jennings' translations are so spare and simple. Most notable among those repeating their roles is Garou, who has a gravelly, Joe Cocker-like voice appropriate for the long-suffering Quasimodo. Arena is fine and, in fact, handles "Live for the One I Love" better than the characteristically overexcited Dion. But based only on this recording, one is left wondering what all the fuss in Paris was about, since the show seems to drag along for most of its length. It may take a staging of the musical in an English-speaking country to explain what the French found so compelling. ~ William Ruhlmann

Country of Origin
Epic (USA)
Sony Music Distribution (
Various Artists
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Live for the One I Love - Celine Dion
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Age of the Cathedrals, The - Bruno Pelletier
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Refugees, The - Luck Mervil
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Bohemienne Song, The - Tina Arena
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Belle (Is the Only Word) - Garou/Daniel Lavoie/Steve Balsamo
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] My Heart If You Will Swear - Natasha St-Pier
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Torn Apart - Steve Balsamo
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Bells, The - Garou
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Pagan Ave Maria, The - Tina Arena
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Your Love Will Kill Me - Daniel Lavoie
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Moon - Bruno Pelletier
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] God You Made the World All Wrong - Garou
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] I'm a Priest - Daniel Lavoie
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Birds They Put in Cages, The - Tina Arena/Garou
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Cast Away - Luck Mervil
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Live For the One I Love - Tina Arena
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Dance My Esmerelda - Garou
  1. Original Cast Recording
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Manu Guiot
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 96

Shop by Department