Old Records Never Die:Mott the Ho - (Import CD)

Mott the Hoople

R 339

eB3 390

Discovery Miles  3 390

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect on the same working day if your payment has been authorised and you collect before 5pm.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

If this is all too confusing, call us on 087 362 8000 or send an e-mail to info@takealot.com. One of our friendly employees will get back to you pronto.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Glam Rock
Mono / Stereo
Jeff Palo; David McLees (Compilation)
Old Records Never Die: The Mott the Hoople/Ian Hunter Anthology

Personnel: Mick Ralphs, Ariel Bender (vocals, guitar); Ian Hunter (vocals, keyboards); Mick Ronson (guitar); Verden Allen (organ); Morgan Fisher (keyboards, synthesizer).
Audio Remasterer: Mark Chalecki.
Liner Note Author: Ben Edmonds.
This two-disc set from Shout Factory collects 32 tracks by Mott the Hoople and the band's frontman Ian Hunter. A straight-ahead rock-&-roll band that garnered a solid cult following during its time together, Mott the Hoople's biggest contribution to rock history is certainly its version of David Bowie's "All the Young Dudes." The track, taken from the band's 1972 album of the same name, remains as stellar an anthem of youthful cool and rock-&-roll attitude as any ever committed to wax. The track appears on disc one alongside other Mott killers such as "All the Way to Memphis" and "Crash Street Kids."
Disc two collects the finest moments from Hunter's lengthy solo career, the majority of which was spent in collaboration with Bowie guitarist Mick Ronson. Among disc two's standouts are "Once Bitten Twice Shy" (a hit for Great White in the late '80s), "Cleveland Rocks" (later the theme to THE DREW CARREY SHOW), and the bittersweet title track. Though neither Mott nor Hunter became true superstars, their brand of good-times glam-tinged rock & roll holds up remarkably well decades later.

Country of Origin
Shout! Factory
Sony Music Distribution (
Mott the Hoople
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Rock and Roll Queen
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Walkin' with a Mountain
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Whisky Women
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Sweet Angeline
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Death May Be Your Santa Claus
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] All the Young Dudes
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Sweet Jane
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Sucker
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] All the Way from Memphis
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Honaloochie Boogie
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Violence
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Ballad of Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zrich)
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Roll Away the Stone
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Crash Street Kidds
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll, The
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Saturday Gigs
  17. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Once Bitten Twice Shy
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Who Do You Love
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] 3,000 Miles from Here
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] You Nearly Did Me In
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Justice of the Peace
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Cleveland Rocks
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Just Another Night
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Ships
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] When the Daylight Comes
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] Old Records Never Die
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Central Park N' West
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Speechless
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Women's Intuition - (featuring Mick Ronson)
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Artful Dodger, The
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 15 ] Still Love Rock and Roll
  32. [ Disc 02 Track 16 ] Words (Big Mouth)
  1. Mott The Hoople
  2. Mott The Hoople/Ian Hunter
Studio / Live

Rolling Stone (p.72) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Throughout this two-disc set's 38-year scope, Hunter unites opposing elements: primal hard rock, complex lyricism, quintessential Americana and a distinctly English bray."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.125) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith 16 smartly chosen tracks per disc both band and de facto leader are amply represented."

Video Disabled
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 339

Shop by Department