Original Soundtrack - The Hours (CD)

Philip Glass

Write a review

R 235

eB2 350

Discovery Miles  2 350

Shipped in 7 to 10 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Sold by Upbeat - Fulfilled by Takealot

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Film Composers
Number of Discs
Number of Items
The Hours [Music from the Motion Picture]
Country of Origin
Nonesuch (USA)
Mono / Stereo

Entertainment Weekly (1/24/03, p.100) - "...His music for the adaptation of Michael Cunningham's novel achieves a balance of melancholy and serenity that's wholly appropriate..." - Rating: B
Uncut (5/03, p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Philip Glass at his most minimal, repetitive, and inexplicably, magically, affecting..."
Mojo (Publisher) (4/03, p.100) - 3 stars out of 5 - "....There's always something refreshing about a Glass score...It still punches its weight with finesse..."

  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] The Poet Acts
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Why Does Someone Have To Die
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Tearing Herself Away
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Escape!
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Choosing Life
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] The Hours
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Morning Passages
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Something She Has To Do
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] For Your Own Benefit
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Vanessa And The Changelings
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] I'm Going To Make A Cake
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] An Unwelcome Friend
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Dead Things
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] The Kiss
Release Date
12 November 2002
57m 33s
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Hours, film score: The Poet Acts, The
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Hours, film score: Morning Passages, The
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Hours, film score: Something She Has to Do, The
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Hours, film score: "For Your Own Benefit", The
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Hours, film score: Vanessa and the Changelings, The
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Hours, film score: "I'm Going to Make a Cake", The
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Hours, film score: An Unwelcome Friend, The
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Hours, film score: Dead Things, The
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Hours, film score: The Kiss, The
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Hours, film score: "Why Does Someone Have to Die?", The
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Hours, film score: Tearing Herself Away, The
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Hours, film score: Escape!, The
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Hours, film score: Choosing Life, The
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Hours, film score: The Hours, The

Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, London, England. Includes liner notes by Michael Cunningham.
THE HOURS was nominated for the 2004 Grammy Award for Best Soundtrack Album For A Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media.
Composer: Philip Glass.
Personnel: Rolf Wilson (violin); Nick Barr (viola); David Daniels (cello); Dave Arch, Michael Riesman (piano); Chris Laurence (double bass).
Liner Note Authors: Michael Cunningham; Michael Riesman.
Recording information: Air Studios, London, England (10/07/2003-10/09/2003); Baldwin, New York, NY (10/07/2003-10/09/2003); EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England (10/07/2003-10/09/2003).
Editor: Ichiho Nishiki.
Arrangers: Michael Riesman; Nico Muhly.
One of America's best-known composers, Philip Glass may be widely regarded as a minimalist, but he demonstrates his strength as a storyteller with his soundtracks, and THE HOURS is no exception. Onscreen, it doesn't seem possible to find a more perfect accompaniment to Michael Cunningham's lovely story with searing tragic elements and bottomless yearning. On its own, however, the album feels lighter and more promising, a reminder again of Glass's resourcefulness and penchant for melody.
Pianist Michael Riesman and the Lyric Quartet enhance the classical tone of some of these pieces. "Morning Passages" and "Unwelcome Friend" have lovely piano solos that move grandly enough alone, but then are suddenly and delightedly joined by Glass's signature, blissfully sparse, but warm strings. "I'm Going to Bake a Cake," and "The Kiss" are reminiscent of Glass's more contemporary compositional style, three repeated arpeggios and only slightly shifting block chords. As ever, what saves these pieces from feeling repetitive is Glass's feel for romance and the dramatic arc.

Date Released
2003-01-01 00:00:00
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Philip Glass
Don Christensen; Kurt Munkacsi; Michael Riesman
  1. Philip Glass
WEA (Distributor)
Jonathan Allen; Hector Castillo
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 235

Shop by Department