Simon Paul - Songwriter (CD)

Paul Simon

Write a review

R 205

eB2 050

Discovery Miles  2 050

Shipped in 5 to 7 working days

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Eligible for Cash on Delivery. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Boxed Set
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Folk Rock
Number of Items
Songwriter [Box]
Country of Origin
USA / Canada
Mono / Stereo
Uncut (magazine) (p.101) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his is the native New Yorker's own personal selection....A skein of wordy and worthy album tracks."
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Sound of Silence, The - (previously unreleased)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Boxer, The
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Bridge Over Troubled Water
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Mother and Child Reunion
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Tenderness
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Peace Like a River
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] American Tune
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Kodachrome
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Something So Right
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Late in the Evening
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Train in the Distance
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Hearts and Bones
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Still Crazy After All These Years
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Ren‚ and Georgette Magritte with their Dog After the War
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Boy In The Bubble, The
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Graceland
  18. [ Disc 02 Track 01 ] Obvious Child
  19. [ Disc 02 Track 02 ] Further To Fly
  20. [ Disc 02 Track 03 ] Cool, Cool River, The
  21. [ Disc 02 Track 04 ] Spirit Voices
  22. [ Disc 02 Track 05 ] Born In Puerto Rico
  23. [ Disc 02 Track 06 ] Quality
  24. [ Disc 02 Track 07 ] Darling Lorraine
  25. [ Disc 02 Track 08 ] Look At That
  26. [ Disc 02 Track 09 ] Se¤orita with a Necklace of Tears
  27. [ Disc 02 Track 10 ] That's Me
  28. [ Disc 02 Track 11 ] Another Galaxy
  29. [ Disc 02 Track 12 ] Father and Daughter
  30. [ Disc 02 Track 13 ] Rewrite
  31. [ Disc 02 Track 14 ] Love and Hard Times
  32. [ Disc 02 Track 15 ] So Beautiful or So What
Pop / Rock
Release Date
1 November 2011
138m 49s

Liner Note Authors: Chuck Close; Tom Moon.
Photographers: Lynn Goldsmith; Don Hunstein; Mark Seliger; Teresa Alfieri; Yann Gamblin; Isaiah Wyner; Peggy Harper; Paul Simon; Peter Simon.
The title makes plain the intention of Paul Simon on this 2011 double-disc set: the focus is not on the hits but the songs, to the extent that his most famous song is not performed either by him solo or with Art Garfunkel, it is sung by Aretha Franklin, a selection that suggests this compilation will be more idiosyncratic than it is. Many of the songs that are Simon's solo staples -- "Mother and Child Reunion," "Kodachrome," "American Tune," "Late in the Evening," "Still Crazy After All These Years," "Graceland," "The Boy in the Bubble" -- are here, enough to almost camouflage the big songs that are missing in action, including "50 Ways to Leave Your Lover," "Duncan," "Slip Slidin' Away," and "You Can Call Me Al." All these are casualties of a concept that allows for Simon to spend the entirety of the second disc on albums released since 1990, a move that fits the aesthetic -- there's no dip in quality -- but is sure to disgruntle listeners who only want the songs they know by heart. But there are plenty of compilations for those kind of fans; for listeners who want to get a strong overview of Simon the writer, containing many but not all of his best songs, Songwriter is a solid choice. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Date Released
2011-11-01 00:00:00
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Paul Simon
Steve Berkowitz (Compilation)
  1. Simon, Paul
Sony BMG
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 205

Shop by Department