Soulfly - Omen (CD)


R 259

eB2 590

Discovery Miles  2 590

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Heavy Metal
Number of Discs
Number of Items
Country of Origin
Mono / Stereo

Alternative Press (p.108) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "A few surprisingly melodic guitar tones appear on OMEN, but the bulk of the disc is head-down thrash-grind..."
Kerrang (Magazine) (p.51) - "[A] ripping riff-fest that goes for the throat from the plundering opening notes of 'Bloodbath And Beyond'..."

  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Bloodbath & Beyond
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Counter Sabotage
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Soulfly Vii
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Rise Of The Fallen
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Great Depression
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Lethal Injection
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Kingdom
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Jeffrey Dahmer
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Off With Their Heads
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Vulure Culture
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Mega-doom
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Bloodbath
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Rise of the Fallen
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Great Depression
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Lethal Injection
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Kingdom
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Jeffrey Dahmer
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Off with Their Heads
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Vulture Culture
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Mega-Doom
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Counter Sabotage
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Soulfly VII
Release Date
29 July 2010
40m 32s

Personnel: Max Cavalera (vocals, sitar); Marc Rizzo (guitar, flamenco guitar); Joel Nunez (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: Logan Mader.
Recording information: El Roacho Recording, Los Angeles, CA; Los Angeles, CA; The Lair, Los Angeles, CA.
Illustrator: David Ho.
Still going strong after all these years, Max Cavalera returns with another one from Soulfly. Continually pushing the band further away from its nu-metal beginnings, their seventh album, Omen, is like thrash metal comfort food, showing us that sometimes what we really want is a heaping plate of good, old-fashioned, unbridled aggression. In a world where bands like Mastodon are pushing metal into increasingly esoteric directions, it takes an old pro like Cavalera, someone who's made a career out of blending experimental grooves with meat-headed brutality, to make something that can be both simple and compelling. Cavalera really has the Soulfly formula perfected, shifting things here and there, but always making sure to keep it simple and keep it heavy. Accentuating (or maybe exaggerating) the sledgehammer guitar work is the sheer relentlessness of the album. Joe Nunez's thundering double-bass drumming tirelessly drives the songs forward. All the other tropes you've come to expect from Soulfly are here as well. As always, there are a couple of hard-hitting guest vocalists, this time featuring the Dillinger Escape Plan's Greg Puciato, who sings on "Rise of the Fallen," as well as Prong's Tommy Victor, who takes the wheel on "Lethal Injection." There's also Cavalera's brutally simple lyrics, whose main subject matter this time around seems to be more focused on the apocalyptic than the revolutionary. While a couple of the songs might reach Dethklok levels of ridiculousness ("Bloodbath & Beyond" and "Jeffrey Dahmer" being the main offenders), most of the album stays within an acceptable level of lyrical absurdity. The only real misstep on the album comes by way of the super-smooth "Soulfly VII," the latest installment of the self-titled song cycle that has once again snuck its way onto the album as a pointless diversion from an otherwise solid collection of songs. Fortunately, the rest of the album makes it easy to forgive Cavalera and company for one useless track on an otherwise excellent album. ~ Gregory Heaney

Elektra (Label)
Audio Format
PCM Audio
Studio / Live
Video Disabled
Logan Mader; Max Cavalera
  1. Soulfly
Date Released
2010-06-01 00:00:00
Logan Mader
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 259

Shop by Department