Stars & Stripes Forever - (Import CD)

Nitty Gritty Dirt

R 109

eB1 090

Discovery Miles  1 090

Supplier out of stock

When do I get it?

Prepaid codes are delivered to you via email as soon as payment has been approved.

When do I get it?

Once payment has been approved, purchased eBooks are added to your Digital Library, ready for you to download.

When do I get it?

Gift vouchers are delivered via email to the recipient as soon as payment has been approved.

Of course you want to know — When do I get it?

We strive at all times to get it to you on time but here are some indications:

If we say In Stock, we dispatch within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say In Stock (You can also collect in cpt), the stock is available from our Cape Town warehouse and you can collect as soon as your “ready to collect” mail has been received.

If we say dispatched between X and Y days then it takes X to Y days to receive from a supplier and it will then be with you within the time frame of the shipping plan you selected.

If we say Pre-order it means that your item will be dispatched to you on the day it's released and arrive with the time span of the shipping plan you chose.

And then there's the Weekend. In order to receive goods on the weekend, select our weekend delivery option when checking out.

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days. Learn more

Hassle-Free Exchanges & Returns for 30 Days


If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply return the items to us in their original condition and packaging within 30 days of receipt and we will issue a credit which can be used to place a new order.

Exchanges (Fashion, sportswear and shoes only)

Wrong size? Don't quite like the colour? You can exchange your purchased item for a different size and/or colour up to 30 days from the day you received it, completely free of charge.

The item must be unworn and unused (other than trials) with the original tags still attached. Packaging should be returned in an undamaged condition with the item

When does this policy not apply?

If the item is:
  • older than 30 days
  • opened, unsealed, used or missing any accessories
  • a digital product such as an eBook, electronic voucher, gaming code or other digital download;
  • an audio or video recording or computer software that has been unsealed;
  • a newspaper, periodical or magazine;
  • a foodstuff, beverage, or other product intended for everyday consumption;
  • a nursing or maternity product that has been unsealed, including (but not limited to) breast pumps, bottles, formula, maternity underwear, nappies and wipes;
  • a beauty product or fragrance which has been used; or
  • a product which has been personalised for you or made to your specifications.

Find out more about Exchanges & Returns

  1. Performer
  2. Rock & Pop
  3. Country Rock
Mono / Stereo
William E. McEuen; Leonard Martinez; William McEuen
Stars & Stripes Forever

The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: John McEuen (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle); Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, steel guitar); Jimmie Fadden (vocals, guitar, harmonica, accordion, drums); Jim Ibbotson (vocals, accordion, piano, bass, drums).
Additional personnel: Doug Jernigan (dobro); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Les Thompson (mandolin, bass); Jerry Mills (mandolin); Plas Johnson (saxophone).
Recorded at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas on March 13, 1972; Cowtown, Kansas City, Missouri on June 17 & 18, 1973; Woodland Sound Studios, Nashville, Tennessee on January 14, 22 & 23, 1974. Includes liner notes by Rich Kienzle.
Adapter: Marcelle Clements.
Personnel: Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, drums, washboard, background vocals); John McEuen (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle, accordion); Les Thompson (vocals, guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Jimmie Fadden (vocals, guitar, harmonica, drums, background vocals); Jimmy Ibbotson (vocals, guitar, accordion, piano, keyboards, drums, background vocals); Maurice Manceau (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Doug Journigon, Dave Jernigan (dobro); Jerry Mills (mandolin); Vassar Clements (violin, fiddle); Byron Berline (violin); Plas Johnson (saxophone); Russ Kunkel (drums).
Audio Remixer: Michael Denecke.
Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
Recording information: Cowtown Ballroom, Kansas City, MO (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Cowtown, Kansas City, MS (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Woodland Sound Studios, Nashville, TN (03/13/1972-01/14/1974); Woodland Studios, Nashville, TN (03/13/1972-01/14/1974).
Photographers: David Bowie; Walter McEuen; Bill Higgins; William R. Eastabrook; William McEuen; Alice McEuen.
Unknown Contributor Role: Michel Rubini.
Arrangers: Marcelle Clements; Jeff Hanna.
In many ways, the mixed collection of live and studio recordings on Stars & Stripes Forever accomplished for the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and rock music what Sweetheart of the Rodeo failed to do for or with the Byrds, showing the rock band plunging deeply into country music. Two years in the making, it incorporated new studio cuts and live tracks recorded at five concerts over a two-year period, as well as interview material with guest fiddle player Vassar Clements. The mix works better than just about any genuine country (as opposed to country-rock) effort ever done by a rock band, mostly because the band was so careful in their recording and editing, and they gave themselves time to get this stuff just the way they wanted it. Beyond the excellent concert renditions of "Mr. Bojangles" or "The Battle of New Orleans" (which became a single in the wake of this album), and covers of Hank Williams songs and numerous traditional tunes, listeners found they'd walked in on something very deep and profound, tapping into a special creative process. Whatever the reason, this album gave the public more than its money's worth and was a success, charting higher than any other record the group ever released. It still packs lots of power. ~ Bruce Eder

Country of Origin
Studio / Live
The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Songs / Tracks
  1. [ Disc 01 Track 01 ] Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
  2. [ Disc 01 Track 02 ] Dirt Band Interview
  3. [ Disc 01 Track 03 ] Cosmic Cowboy, Pt. 1
  4. [ Disc 01 Track 04 ] Aluminum Record Award
  5. [ Disc 01 Track 05 ] Fish Song
  6. [ Disc 01 Track 06 ] Mr. Bojangles
  7. [ Disc 01 Track 07 ] Vassar Clements Interview
  8. [ Disc 01 Track 08 ] Listen to the Mockingbird
  9. [ Disc 01 Track 09 ] Sheik of Araby, The
  10. [ Disc 01 Track 10 ] Resign Yourself to Me
  11. [ Disc 01 Track 11 ] Dixie Hoedown
  12. [ Disc 01 Track 12 ] Cripple Creek
  13. [ Disc 01 Track 13 ] Mountain Whippoorwill, The (Or, How Hillbilly Jim Won the Great ...)
  14. [ Disc 01 Track 14 ] Honky Tonkin'
  15. [ Disc 01 Track 15 ] House at Pooh Corner
  16. [ Disc 01 Track 16 ] Buy Me for the Rain
  17. [ Disc 01 Track 17 ] Oh, Boy!
  18. [ Disc 01 Track 18 ] Teardrops in My Eyes
  19. [ Disc 01 Track 19 ] Glocoat-Blues
  20. [ Disc 01 Track 20 ] Stars and Stripes Forever
  21. [ Disc 01 Track 21 ] Battle of New Orleans
  22. [ Disc 01 Track 22 ] It Came from the 50's (Blast from the Past)/Jeff Hanna
  23. [ Disc 01 Track 23 ] My True Story
  24. [ Disc 01 Track 24 ] Diggy Liggy Lo
  1. Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
  2. Nitty Gritty Dirt
EMI Music Distribution
72m 49s
Video Disabled
Gary Mullin; Gary Mullen; Dino Lappas
Bundle deals expire when stock runs out. T&Cs apply

No reviews yet.

Be the first!

R 109

Shop by Department